Observed climate change in Switzerland

All regions in Switzerland are considerably warmer than they used to be. The near-surface air temperature has risen over the last 150 years by about 2 °C – a considerably greater increase than the worldwide average. Nine out of the ten warmest years since records began have been in the 21st century. Heavy precipitation events have also become more intense and more frequent.

In Switzerland, there has been reliable long-term measurement of the climate since 1864. The data show clear evidence of climate change. For instance, the near-surface air temperature in Switzerland has increased over the last 150 years by about 2 °C.* This warming is considerably greater than the global average (0.9 °C). Since the 1980s, our climate has been experiencing its fastest recorded warming.

As a result of these temperature increases, we now have more frequent and warmer periods of hot weather than before. Moreover, the volume of the Alpine glaciers has shrunk by about 60 percent since the middle of the 19th century. Since 1970, the number of annual days of snowfall at 2,000 metres above sea level has diminished by 20 percent, and below 800 metres above sea level, it only snows half as often as it did then. The vegetation period is two to four weeks longer than in the 1960s. 

Increases in heavy precipitation events can also be seen from the data series to date, and such events have become more intense and more frequent than they were at the beginning of the 20th century. Amounts of precipitation have also risen in wintertime.

The records do not give any clear indications of longterm trends in terms of the total precipitation in summer, nor of dry periods, low stratus or wind speeds. This may be attributable to the fact that these parameters are barely or not at all affected by climate change. It could also be the case that the influence of climate change has not yet become apparent for these parameters. The basis of observations is insufficient to determine changes in small-scale phenomena such as thunderstorms, tornadoes and hail. 

* The average temperature rose by 1.5 °C between the normal period of 1981–2010 and an early industrial period (1864–1900) (see graph of annual average temperature).

Is climate change caused by humans? Find out the causes of climate change here.

How will the trends continue in the future? Read all about the Climate Change Scenarios for Switzerland here.

More information

MeteoSwiss provides detailed information on today’s climate and on climate change in Switzerland.

Today’s climate in Switzerland—in maps

Here you find the averages for the current month and year (normal period 1981-2010) for temperature, precipitation, and various climate indicators and weather extremes as maps.

Temperature and precipitation trends at measurement stations

Here you find the annual and seasonal trends for temperature and precipitation at various measurement stations in the Swiss climate network and for different time spans.

Changes in climate indicators at measurement stations

Graphs over time since measurements began in 1864 or since 1961 for summer days, days with fresh snowfall and other climate indicators at various measurement stations in the Swiss climate network are available here.

Links

Last modification 06.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/beobachtete-klimaentwicklung-in-der-schweiz.html

Beobachtete Klimaentwicklung in der Schweiz

In der Schweiz ist es heute in allen Landesteilen deutlich wärmer als früher. Die bodennahe Lufttemperatur hat über die letzten 150 Jahre um etwa 2 Grad Celsius zugenommen – deutlich stärker als im weltweiten Durchschnitt. Neun der zehn wärmsten Jahre seit Messbeginn lagen im 21. Jahrhundert. Auch Starkniederschläge sind häufiger und stärker geworden.

Beobachtete Veränderungen

In der Schweiz gibt es seit 1864 verlässliche Langzeitmessungen des Klimas. Sie zeigen eindeutige Beweise des Klimawandels. So hat die bodennahe Lufttemperatur in der Schweiz in den letzten 150 Jahren um etwa 2 Grad Celsius zugenommen*. Diese Erwärmung ist deutlich stärker als im globalen Durchschnitt (0,9 Grad Celsius). Am schnellsten erwärmte sich unser Klima seit den 1980er-Jahren.

Als eine Folge dieser Erwärmung kommt es heute zu häufigeren und zu wärmeren Hitzeperioden als früher. Ebenfalls verringerte sich das Volumen der Alpengletscher seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts insgesamt um rund 60 Prozent. Seit 1970 hat die Anzahl der jährlichen Schneefalltage auf 2000 Meter über Meer um 20 Prozent abgenommen. Unterhalb von 800 Meter über Meer schneit es heute sogar nur noch halb so oft wie damals. Die Vegetationsperiode ist zwei bis vier Wochen länger als in den 1960er-Jahren.

Eindeutig erkennen lassen sich in bisherigen Messreihen auch zunehmende Starkniederschläge: Sie sind stärker und häufiger als zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts. Auch die Niederschlagsmengen im Winter haben zugenommen.

Keine klaren Hinweise auf langfristige Trends finden sich in den Aufzeichnungen in Bezug auf die Niederschlagssumme im Sommer, Trockenperioden, Hochnebel und Windgeschwindigkeiten. Dies kann davon herrühren, dass diese Grössen vom Klimawandel nicht oder kaum betroffen sind. Es kann jedoch auch sein, dass der Einfluss des Klimawandels noch nicht erkennbar ist. Die Beobachtungsbasis reicht nicht aus, um Veränderungen in kleinräumigen Phänomenen wie Gewitter, Tornado und Hagel zu bestimmen. 

* Die Temperatur ist zwischen dem Normzeitraum 1981–2010 und einem früh-industriellen Zeitraum (1864–1900) im Mittel um 1,5 Grad Celsius angestiegen.

Ist der Klimawandel menschgemacht? Informieren Sie sich über die Ursachen des Klimawandels hier.  

Wie gehen die Trends in Zukunft weiter? Lesen Sie alles zu den Klimaszenarien für die Schweiz hier

Mehr Informationen

MeteoSchweiz stellt detaillierte Informationen zum heutigen Klima und dem Klimawandel der Schweiz zur Verfügung.

Heutiges Klima der Schweiz als Karten

Hier finden Sie die heutigen Monats- und Jahresmittel (Normperiode 1981-2010) für die Temperatur, den Niederschlag sowie verschiedene Klimaindikatoren und Wetterextreme als Karten.  

Temperatur- und Niederschlagtrend an Messstationen

Hier erhalten Sie jährliche und saisonale Trends für Temperatur und Niederschlag an unterschiedlichen Messstationen des Schweizer Klimanetzwerks und für unterschiedliche Zeiträume.

Veränderungen der Klimaindikatoren an Messstationen

Grafiken zum zeitlichen Verlauf seit Messbeginn 1864 oder seit 1961 von Sommertagen, Neuschneetagen und anderen Klimaindikatoren an unterschiedlichen Messstationen des Schweizer Klimanetzwerks bekommen Sie hier.

Links

Letzte Änderung 06.11.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Klimaszenarien
Andreas Fischer

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/beobachtete-klimaentwicklung-in-der-schweiz.html