Decentralised, cross-sectoral organisation

Through practical projects, the pilot programme demonstrates how Switzerland can adapt to the changing climate. The projects span multiple sectors and are implemented in all cantons on a decentralised basis, under the overall responsibility of the Federal Office for the Environment.

Image_Organisation_Pilotprogramm

The most important measure in fighting climate change is the consistent reduction of global greenhouse gas emissions. Switzerland, along with 190 other countries, has committed to do so in the Paris Agreement. In the CO2 Act, the Swiss Confederation has defined various instruments to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in Switzerland.

Pfeiler_V1_d

Being prepared

Even if we successfully reduce global greenhouse gas emissions, the climate will continue to change in the decades to come. We therefore have to adapt to new conditions. The Swiss Confederation has developed a corresponding strategy and action plan for adapting to climate change. Its aim is for authorities, the industry and the population to accept this challenge and tackle it together.

The Confederation’s mission is to provide the basis for the necessary measures and to link and coordinate the individual players and their activities. Learn more about the Confederation’s strategy and actionplan on the FOEN Website.

Promotion of exemplary projects

The adaptation strategy of the Confederation also incorporates the “adaptation to climate change” pilot programme. It supports exemplary, innovative plans by cantons, regions, cities and municipalities and shows how Switzerland can concretely adapt to the changing climate. The projects serve to minimise the climate risks on the ground, to increase the capacity for adaptation and to seize opportunities.

The pilot programme is intended to link the different players and to promote collaboration on all levels. Moreover, it also strives to find solutions in which several organisations, expert fields and political, economic and social structures participate. This creates feasible solutions. The implementation of the projects not only involves public institutions, but also companies from private industry.

UI-1703_Abb05_D

Second phase underway

During the first phase of the pilot programme (2013 to 2017), 31 projects were implemented throughout Switzerland. Results can be found in the project archive. The second programme phase started in 2018, with another 50 projects on 6 topics (see reverse). The results will be available
at the end of 2022.

Ten Federal Offices participate in the pilot programme (see below). It is managed by the Federal Office for the Environment FOEN. The costs for the second phase of the pilot programme have been estimated at approximately 9.4 million francs. The expenses for the projects are jointly covered by the partici¬pating Federal Offices, as well as the cantons, cities and municipalities.

The following federal offices are involved in the pilot programme, providing technical and financial support.
Federal Office for the Environment FOEN (management)
Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP
Federal Office for Energy FOE
Federal Office for Public Health FOPH
Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO
Federal Office for Meteorology and Climatology MeteoSwiss
Federal Office for Spatial Development ARE
Federal Road Office FEDRO
Federal Office for Housing FOH

Further informations

Documents

Specialist staff
Last modification 12.02.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment
Reporting and Adaptation Section


Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/massnahmen/pak/pilotprogramm-anpassung-an-den-klimawandel1.html

Dezentral und sektorübergreifend organisiert

Das Pilotprogramm zeigt anhand von konkreten Projekten auf, wie die Schweiz sich an das veränderte Klima anpassen kann. Die Projekte sind sektorübergreifend angelegt und werden dezentral in allen Kantonen umgesetzt. Federführend ist das Bundesamt für Umwelt.

Image_Organisation_Pilotprogramm

Die wichtigste Massnahme im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel ist die konsequente Verminderung des weltweiten Ausstosses von Treibhausgasen. Dazu hat sich die Schweiz zusammen mit rund 190 weiteren Staaten im Übereinkommen von Paris verpflichtet. Der Bund hat im CO2-Gesetz verschiedene Instrumente festgelegt, um die Treibhausgas-Emissionen der Schweiz zu reduzieren.

Pfeiler_V1_d

Vorbereitet sein

Selbst wenn es gelingt, die weltweiten Treibhausgasemissionen zu senken, wird sich das Klima in den kommenden Jahrzehnten weiter verändern. Wir müssen uns also an neue Bedingungen anpassen. Der Bundesrat hat dazu eine Strategie sowie einen Aktionsplan zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel entwickelt. Ziel ist es, dass Behörden, Wirtschaft und Bevölkerung diese Herausforderung annehmen und gemeinsam bewältigen.

Der Bund hat die Aufgabe, Grundlagen für die notwendigen Massnahmen bereitzustellen und die einzelnen Akteure und ihre Aktivitäten untereinander zu vernetzen und zu koordinieren. Mehr über Strategie und Aktionsplan des Bundes zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel findet sich hier auf der Website des BAFU .

Beispielhafte Projekte

Zur Anpassungsstrategie des Bundes gehört auch das Pilotprogramm «Anpassung an den Klimawandel». Es unterstützt beispielhafte, innovative Vorhaben der Kantone, Regionen, Städte und Gemeinden und zeigt auf, wie die Schweiz sich ganz konkret an das veränderte Klima anpassen kann. Die Projekte dienen dazu, vor Ort die Klimarisiken zu minimieren, die Anpassungsfähigkeit zu steigern und Chancen zu nutzen.

Mit dem Pilotprogramm sollen die verschiedenen Akteure vernetzt und die Zusammenarbeit auf allen Ebenen gefördert werden. Zudem geht es auch darum, Lösungen zu finden, an denen unterschiedliche Fachgebiete, Organisationen oder sogar Sektoren beteiligt sind. Dadurch entstehen kohärente und praxistaugliche Lösungen. An der Umsetzung der Projekte sind nicht nur staatliche Stellen, sondern auch Unternehmen der Privatwirtschaft beteiligt. 

UI-1703_Abb05_D

Zweite Programmphase läuft

Während der ersten Phase des Pilotprogramms (2013 bis 2017) wurden in der ganzen Schweiz 31 Projekte abgeschlossen. Resultate finden sich im Archiv. Die zweite Programmphase startete 2019 mit weiteren 50 Projekten zu sechs Themen Ergebnisse werden bis Ende 2022 vorliegen.

Am Pilotprogramm sind zehn Bundesämter beteiligt (siehe Tabelle). Die Leitung liegt beim Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU. Die Kosten für die zweite Phase des Pilotprogramms sind auf insgesamt rund 9,4 Millionen Franken veranschlagt. Die Projektaufwände werden von den beteiligten Bundesämtern sowie den Kantonen, Städten und Gemeinden gemeinsam getragen. 

Diese Bundesämter sind in das Pilotprogramm involviert und leisten fachliche sowie finanzielle Unterstützung.  
Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU (Gesamtleitung) 
Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz BABS 
Bundesamt für Energie BFE  
Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG  
Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW  
Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen BLW  
Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz  
Bundesamt für Strassen ASTRA  
Bundesamt für Raumentwicklung ARE 
Bundesamt für Wohnungswesen BWO 

Weiterführende Informationen

Links

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 12.02.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU
Klimaberichterstattung und -anpassung

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/massnahmen/pak/pilotprogramm-anpassung-an-den-klimawandel1.html