Crop pests

Climate plays a key role for the distribution and development of harmful organisms. Scenarios predicting future changes in the prevalence of pests and pathogens serve as a basis for planning adaptation measures in plant protection.

Climate change will affect the way harmful organisms exert pressure on crops. This requires changes in plant protection measures. Quantitative information on the development and distribution of pests and pathogens under future climatic conditions supports the adaptation process.

Goals

The goal of this research area is to develop scenarios concerning the distribution and development of harmful organisms of importance for Swiss agriculture, based on current climate scenarios and with the help of computer simulations. These scenarios factor in possible shifts in site suitability for the crops and the direct impacts of climate change on plant growth.

Content

In this research area, scenarios concerning the spread and proliferation of harmful organisms are developed with the help of statistical and process-based models based on the new climate change scenarios for Switzerland. The models are calibrated on the basis of current data. The target area is extended to the whole of Europe for the study of invasive species. Corresponding data and climate change scenarios are taken into account.

The impacts of climate change on harmful organisms are discussed using the examples of the codling moth (Cydia pomonella), a domestic pest in fruit farming, and the brown marmorated stink bug (Halyomorpha halys), an invasive alien pest.

The effect of higher temperatures on the pace of development and the number of generations of the codling moth is analysed taking into account the temporal synchronicity between host plant and pest organism.

The distribution and seasonal prevalence of the brown marmorated stink bug is simulated under present and future climate conditions using a bioclimatic population model. The model makes it possible to take a closer look at the effect of extreme temperatures on the development of this insect pest.

Highlights

  • Because of global warming, the phenological development of insect pests begins earlier in the year and proceeds more quickly. In the case of codling moth, this promotes the development of additional generations, which potentially leads to an additional infestation in apple orchards. However, apple varieties that ripen early are less affected than apple varieties that ripen late.
  • The example of the brown marmorated stink bug shows that heat stress during very hot summers can temporarily decimate the population of insect pests.
  • In the long-term, cold stress is becomes less relevant for the survival of insects. Insect pests can thus hibernate better and establish themselves in Switzerland. Higher population densities are to be expected in spring.
  • As can be clearly seen from the example of the brown marmorated stink bug, insect pests will be able to spread to higher altitudes in the future due to higher winter temperatures.
  • Climate change fosters the spread of alien pests from south to north. Natural barriers to distribution, such as the Alps, will be less effective in the future.
  • If efforts are undertaken to curb global warming, the magnitude of the impact of climate change on the spread and proliferation of harmful organisms will remain low in many cases until the end of the century. 

Partners

As a founding member of NCCS, the Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) commissioned Agroscope and the Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (FiBL) to address this issue. The CABI in Delémont is also involved in the area of invasive, alien insect pests.

Last modification 12.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Agro-environmental Systems and Nutrients

Daniel Felder

FiBL
Department of Crop Sciences

Sibylle Stöckli

Agroscope
Agroecology and Environment
Climate and Agriculture Group

Pierluigi Calanca

Plant Protection
Phytopathology and Zoology in Fruit and Vegetable Production Group

Dominique Mazzi

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/schadorganismen-landwirtschaft.html

Organismes nuisibles aux cultures

Le climat joue un rôle décisif pour le développement et la diffusion d'organismes nuisibles. Des scénarios illustrant la présence de ravageurs et d’agents pathogène dans le futur servent comme point de départ pour planifier des mesures d’adaptation de la protection des plantes.

Le changement climatique aura pour effet de modifier la pression exercée par les organismes nuisibles sur les plantes cultivées. Cet impact rend nécessaire l'ajustement des mesures de protection des plantes. Informations quantitatives, relatives à la prolifération et à la propagation de ravageurs et d'agents pathogènes.

Objectifs

Ce thème prioritaire a pour but d'élaborer, à l'aide de simulations sur ordinateur, des scénarios relatifs à la distribution et au développement d'organismes nuisibles d’importance pour l'agriculture suisse partant de scénarios climatiques actuels. D'éventuelles évolutions dans l’aptitude des sites pour les cultures et dans les incidences directes du changement climatique sur la croissance des plantes sont prises en considération.

Contenu

Des scénarios relatifs à la distribution et au développement d'organismes nuisibles sont élaborés dans ce thème prioritaire à partir de nouveaux scénarios climatiques s'appliquant à la Suisse. Des modèles statistiques et reposant sur des processus sont utilisés à cette fin. Les modèles sont étalonnés sur la base de données actuelle. L'espace ciblé est étendu à toute l'Europe pour analyser les espèces invasives, en faisant appel à des données et à des scénarios climatiques s'y rapportant.

L’incidence du changement climatique sur les organismes nuisibles fait l'objet d'une discussion prenant pour exemple le carpocapse (Cydia pomonella), un ravageur indigène en arboriculture, et la punaise marbrée (Halyomorpha halys), un ravageur exotique envahissant.

L'influence de températures élevées sur la vitesse de développement et sur le nombre de générations du carpocapse est examinée compte tenu du synchronisme temporel entre la plante-hôte et l'organisme nuisible.

Dans le cas de la punaise marbrée, la distribution et la présence saisonnière sont simulées dans les conditions climatiques actuelles et à venir au moyen d'un modèle de population bioclimatique. Le modèle permet d'observer de plus près l'influence de températures extrêmes sur l'évolution de l'insecte ravageur.

Faits marquants

  • Du fait du réchauffement global, l'évolution phénologique des insectes ravageurs intervient plus tôt dans l'année et se complète plus rapidement. Dans le cas du carpocapse, ce phénomène est favorisé par le développement de générations supplémentaires, ce qui entraîne potentiellement une infestation additionnelle des pommiers. Les variétés de pomme à maturation précoce sont toutefois moins touchées que celles à maturation tardive.
  • L'exemple de la punaise marbrée montre que le stress dû à la canicule peut décimer temporairement la population des insectes ravageurs durant des étés très chauds.
  • À long terme, le stress dû au froid se révèle moins important pour la survie des. Les insectes ravageurs peuvent ainsi hiberner plus facilement et s'établir en Suisse. Il faut s'attendre à des densités de population supérieures au printemps.
  • Comme l'illustre clairement la punaise des bois marbrée, les insectes ravageurs peuvent essaimer désormais à de plus hautes altitudes en raison des températures hivernales plus élevées.
  • Le changement climatique favorise la diffusion de ravageurs exotiques du Sud vers le Nord. Les barrières naturelles à la propagation telles que les Alpes vont s'avérer moins efficaces à l'avenir.
  • Si des efforts sont entrepris pour limiter le réchauffement global, l'ampleur des incidences du changement climatique sur la diffusion et le développement des organismes nuisibles va rester faible dans bien des cas même jusqu’à fin du siècle.

Partenaires

En sa qualité de membre fondateur du Centre national des services climatologiques ou National Centre for Climate Services (NCCS), l'Office fédéral de l'agriculture (OFAG) a mandaté Agroscope et l’institut de recherche de l’agriculture biologique (FiBL) pour traiter de ce thème prioritaire. Le Centre international pour l'agriculture et les sciences biologiques (CABI) de Delémont est aussi partie prenante dans le domaine thématique des insectes ravageurs exotiques envahissants.

Dernière modification 12.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG
Systèmes agro-environnementaux et éléments fertilisants

Daniel Felder

FiBL
Département des sciences des plantes

Sibylle Stöckli

Agroscope
Agroécologie et environnement
Groupe Climat et agriculture

Pierluigi Calanca

Protection des végétaux
Groupe Phytopathologie et zoologie, arboriculture et cultures maraîchères

Dominique Mazzi

Imprimer contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/fr/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/schadorganismen-landwirtschaft.html