Adaptation to climate change

The climate will continue to change in the future. Switzerland is committed to reducing greenhouse gas emissions to the extent possible. Because global warming can be limited to 2° C at best, however, adaptation to the effects of climate changes is becoming increasingly important. Information on the adaptation activities of the Confederation, cantons and municipalities is bundled here.

Measures to adapt to these effects are already needed today and will become increasingly important in the future. The Federal Council's strategy sets the framework for the coordinated action of the federal agencies in the adaptation to climate change.

Pilot programme adaptation to climate change

Adapting to the effects of climate change is becoming increasingly important. In support of the cantons, regions and municipalities in dealing with the new challenges, the FOEN has launched the "Adaptation to climate change" pilot programme, which is now into the programme’s second phase.

Cantons

Individual cantons are already actively engaged in aspects of adaptation to climate change and have developed basic documents or strategies.

Sectors

Adapting to climate change involves a variety of activities and actors in different sectors. The spectrum ranges from national research programs to specific on-site measures.

Cities and municipalities

Like all of Central Europe, Switzerland is one of the world's regions in which heat levels have increased the most over the last few decades. Over eighty percent of the Swiss population lived in urban areas in 2015, which corresponds to nearly seven million people. Adaptation plays an important role here.

Further information

Links

Specialist staff
Last modification 15.09.2016

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment 
Reporting and Adaptation Section

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/massnahmen/anpassung-an-den-klimawandel.html

Adaptation aux changements climatiques

Les changements climatiques vont se poursuivre. La Suisse s’engage en faveur d’une réduction maximale des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Cependant, comme le réchauffement pourra tout au plus être limité à 2 °C, l’adaptation aux conséquences des changements climatiques revêt une importance croissante. Ces pages regroupent des informations sur les activités de la Confédération, des cantons et des communes en matière d’adaptation.

Stratégie du Conseil fédéral de l'adaptation aux changements climatiques en Suisse

À l’heure actuelle, des mesures permettant de s’adapter aux changements climatiques sont déjà nécessaires ; elles gagneront encore plus en importance à l’avenir. La stratégie du Conseil fédéral fixe le cadre général de la procédure coordonnée d’adaptation que devront suivre les offices fédéraux.

Programme pilote « Adaptation aux changements climatiques »

Pour aider les régions, les cantons et les communes à relever les nouveaux défis qui se présentent, l’Office fédéral de l’environnement a lancé le programme pilote intitulé « Adaptation aux changements climatiques » qui entre maintenant dans sa deuxième phase.

Cantons

Plusieurs cantons disposent déjà de stratégies et de projets d’adaptation aux changements climatiques et ont également planifiés des mesures. Cliquez sur le canton qui vous intéresse afin d’en apprendre davantage sur les services climatologiques qu’il propose afin de répondre aux besoins locaux.

Secteurs

Différents types d’activités portées par de nombreux acteurs de différents secteurs contribuent à l’adaptation aux changements climatiques. Ces activités vont du programme national de recherche à la mise en oeuvre de mesures concrètes sur le terrain.

Villes et communes

La Suisse fait partie, tout comme l’ensemble de l’Europe centrale, des régions du globe qui ont enregistré la plus forte augmentation du nombre de jours de canicule au cours des dernières décennies. En 2015, plus de 80 % de la population suisse, soit près de sept millions de personnes, vivait dans des régions à caractère urbain. Dans ce contexte, l’adaptation revêt une importance déterminante.

Informations complémentaires

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 15.09.2016

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'environnement OFEV
Rapports climatiques et adaptation aux changements

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/fr/home/massnahmen/anpassung-an-den-klimawandel.html