Native Pests in Fruit Production: The Codling Moth

The codling moth (Cydia pomonella) is considered to be one of the key pests in fruit production. The grub causes damage by boring into the apple (Fig. 1). Under current climatic conditions, one grub generation per year is observed in northern Switzerland. By contrast, two grub generations per year always appear in southern Switzerland. In warmer years, a second generation is possible in northern Switzerland, whilst a third grub generation may actually develop in southern Switzerland (Fig. 2).

A halved apple with a codling moth grub near the core. The grub has eaten its way through the apple from the side to the core. Isolated grub droppings can be seen in the feeding tunnel.
Figure 1. The grub of the codling moth feeds inside the fruit.
© Agroscope

Studies have shown that climate change will lead to an earlier start to the flight period of the overwintering generation, and to an even earlier occurrence of the subsequent stages of development (Stöckli et al., 2012). What’s more, data from warmer regions indicate that through natural adaptation to higher temperatures, the codling moth may go into the dormant stage later (Hirschi et al., 2012, Stoeckli et al., 2012). All this increases the likelihood that in future, the codling moth will more often develop two to three generations a year in northern Switzerland, and three generations a year in southern Switzerland (CH2014). This must be borne in mind when adapting control strategies (Stoeckli et al., 2012).

The regions in which, in the future, a third generation of grubs is likely to occur will enclose the Swiss Central Plateau, the Three-Lakes Region, the region around Lake Geneva, and the Rhine Valley, even under the assumption of a climate-stabilising emission scenario (RCP3PD; Fig. 2). With the assumption of emission scenarios that do not provide for any mitigating intervention, the potential distribution range of a third generation of grubs becomes significantly larger, encompassing the whole of Switzerland’s fruit-growing area (A1B and A2).

The graphics show maps of Switzerland that illustrate the probability of the occurrence of a third codling-moth grub generation. A total of ten maps are presented for different combinations of timescales (the present, 2035, 2060 and 2085) and emission scenarios (RCP3PD, A1B and A2). The current fruit-growing area is coloured grey. The likelihood of the occurrence of a third generation of grubs is shown by means of a three-level colour scale, ranging from light-yellow (low probability) to orange (moderate probability) to red (high probability). The map for the current climate shows a high probability of occurrence in the lower-lying valleys of Ticino, and a low probability in the canton of Geneva and along the Rhone. All three scenarios show a similar picture for 2035. In Ticino and in the canton of Geneva, along Lake Geneva, in the Rhone valley and in Basel, the probability of occurrence is high; but the Three Lakes Region, the Rhine Valley and Freiamt will also potentially be affected by a third generation of codling moth.  Assuming the RCP3PD emission scenario, the areas with a high likelihood of occurrence for the 2060 and 2085 timescales increase slightly in size. If emission scenarios A1B and A2 are assumed, however, the extent of the areas with a high probability of occurrence is considerably larger. Around 2060, the areas include large parts of the Swiss Central Plateau and Rhone and Rhine Valleys as well as the canton of Jura, and by 2085 they completely encompass the current fruit-growing area.
Figure 2. Probability of the occurrence of a third generation of codling moth grubs for various timescales and emission scenarios. The grey-shaded area corresponds to the region in which fruits are grown under current climatic conditions. The CH2011 climate scenarios form the basis for the calculation of the maps.
© Agroscope

Whether a third generation of codling moths can actually cause damage, however, depends on whether the grubs of this generation still find apples on the trees that they might attack. Ultimately, therefore, the phenological development of the host plant determines the effective risk of infestation; and this varies greatly depending on whether the apple varieties potentially affected are early- or late-ripening ones.

Results of more-recent analyses, for instance, show that nowadays in southern Switzerland, the likelihood of damage from a third generation of codling moth grubs exceeds 50% only in the case of the late-ripening variety Golden Delicious, whilst the probability for the earlier-ripening apple variety Gala stands at only around 10%. In future, the likelihood of a pre-harvest infestation by a third generation of grubs will increase for both apple varieties, but will remain lower for Gala than for Golden Delicious.

For the very-early-ripening Gravenstein variety, which nowadays is grown almost exclusively in northern Switzerland, the probability of pre-harvest damage by a third generation of codling moth grubs remains negligible, even up to the end of the current century. This underscores the future role of the variety selection and breeding to reduce the potential for damage by insects. Research aimed at this is carried out inter alia by Agroscope and the FiBL.


Additional Information

Literature

References Cited in the text

Hirschi, M., Stoeckli, S., Dubrovsky, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W., Fischer, A. M., Duffy, B. and Samietz, J., 2012: Downscaling climate change scenarios for apple pest and disease modeling in Switzerland, Earth Syst. Dynam., 3(1), 33–47.

Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W. and Samietz, J. 2012: Impact of climate change on voltinism and prospective diapause induction of a global pest insect – Cydia pomonella (L.), PLoS ONE, 7(4), e35723.

Stöckli, S., Samietz, J., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Rotach, M. und Calanca, P., 2012: Einfluss der Klimaänderung auf den Apfelwickler, Schweizer Zeitschrift für Obst- und Weinbau, 19.

 

Additional reading

CH2014-Impacts, 2014: Towards quantitative scenarios of climate change impacts in Switzerland, herausgegeben von OCCR, FOEN, MeteoSwiss, C2SM, Agroscope und ProClim, Bern, Schweiz, 136 pp.

Felber, R., Stöckli, S., Calanca, P., 2018: Generic calibration of a simple model of diurnal temperature variations for spatial analysis of accumulated degree-days, Int. J. Biometeorol., 62, 621–630.

Harshman, J. M., Evans, K. M. and Hardner, C. M., 2016: Cost and accuracy of advanced breeding trial designs in apple, Hortic. Res., 3(1), 1–10.

Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Weigel, A. P., Calanca, P., Samietz, J. and Rotach, M. W., 2012: Monthly weather forecasts in a pest forecasting context: Downscaling, recalibration, and skill improvement, J. Appl. Meteorol. Clim., 51(9), 1633–1638.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Höhn, H., Schaub, L. and Höpli, H. U., 2008: Schädlingsprognose für den Obstbau, AGRARForschung, Forschungsanstalt Agroscope Changins-Wädenswil ACW, Wädenswil, Schweiz.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Razavi, E., Höpli, H. U., Höhn, H. and Schaub, L., 2011: Web-based decision support for sustainable pest management in fruit orchards: Development of the Swiss system SOPRA, INTECH Open Access Publisher.

Samietz, J., Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Höhn, H., Calanca, P. and Rotach, M., 2015: Modelling the impact of climate change on sustainable management of the codling moth (Cydia pomonella) as key pest in apple, in Acta Horticulturae, pp. 35–42, International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS), Leuven, Belgien.

Last modification 12.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Agroscope
Agroecology and Environment
Climate and Agriculture Group

Raphael Felber

FiBL
Department of Crop Sciences

Sibylle Stöckli

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/sektoren/landwirtschaft/auswirkungen-schadorganismen/cydia-pomonella.html

Ravageurs indigènes en arboriculture: le carpocapse de la pomme

Le carpocapse de la pomme (Cydia pomonella) est considéré comme l'un des principaux ravageurs en arboriculture. Les dégâts sont causés par la chenille lorsqu'elle fore son chemin dans la pomme (fig. 1). Dans les conditions climatiques actuelles, on compte une génération de chenilles dans le nord de la Suisse contre deux générations dans le sud du Pays. Dans les années plus chaudes, une deuxième génération de chenilles peut se développer dans le nord de la Suisse, voire même une troisième dans le sud (fig. 2).

Pomme coupée en deux avec une chenille du carpocapse près des pépins. La chenille s'est frayé un chemin par le côté jusqu’au cœur. Dans le tunnel creusé par la chenille, on voit des excréments isolés.
Figure 1. La chenille du carpocapse de la pomme se nourrit de l’intérieur du fruit.
© Agroscope

Des études ont montré qu’à la suite du changement climatique, le vol de la génération hivernante débutera plus tôt, conduisant à l’apparition encore plus précoce des stades de développement ultérieurs (Stöckli et al., 2012). Les données provenant de régions plus chaudes suggèrent également que le carpocapse de la pomme pourrait hiberner plus tard en raison d’une adaptation naturelle aux températures plus élevées (Hirschi et al., 2012, Stoeckli et al., 2012). Tout cela augmente la probabilité que le carpocapse de la pomme arrive à compléter de deux à trois générations par an dans le nord de la Suisse, et même trois générations chaque année dans le sud du Pays (CH2014). L'adaptation des stratégies de lutte doit en tenir compte (Stoeckli et al., 2012).

Les régions où la présence d’une troisième génération de chenilles est très probable à l'avenir s'étendent sur le Plateau central, le Pays des Trois Lacs, la région du lac Léman et la vallée du Rhin, également dans l'hypothèse d'un scénario d'émissions stabilisant le climat (RCP3PD; fig. 2). Par contre, pour des scénarios qui ne prévoient pas d'intervention visant à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet serre (A1B et A2), l’aire de répartition potentielle d'une troisième génération de chenilles sera nettement plus grande et englobera la totalité des surfaces cultivées à fruits de la Suisse.

Le graphique montre des cartes de la Suisse illustrant la probabilité d’apparition d'une troisième génération de chenilles du carpocapse de la pomme. Un total de dix cartes sont présentées pour illustrer différentes combinaisons d'horizons temporels (période présente, 2035, 2060 et 2085) et de scénarios d'émissions (RCP3PD, A1B et A2). La zone de cultures fruitières actuelle est indiquée en gris. La probabilité d'apparition d'une troisième génération de chenilles est indiquée au moyen d'une échelle de trois couleurs allant de jaune pâle (faible probabilité) à rouge (probabilité élevée) en passant par orange (probabilité modérée). La carte du climat actuel montre une forte probabilité d'occurrence dans les basses vallées du Tessin et une faible probabilité dans le canton de Genève ainsi que le long du Rhône. Pour 2035, tout scénario d’émissions présente un tableau similaire. Au Tessin, dans le canton de Genève, sur les rives du lac Léman, dans la vallée du Rhône et à Bâle, la probabilité d'occurrence est élevée. Le Pays des Trois Lacs, la vallée du Rhin et le Freiamt sont également susceptibles d'être concernés par une troisième génération de chenilles du carpocapse de la pomme.  Dans l'hypothèse du scénario d'émissions RCP3PD, les zones à forte probabilité d'occurrence augmentent légèrement pour les horizons 2060 et 2085. L'extension des zones à forte probabilité d'occurrence est beaucoup plus prononcée dans l’hypothèse des scénarios d'émissions A1B et A2. Elles couvrent une grande partie du Plateau, des vallées du Rhône et du Rhin ainsi que le canton du Jura d'ici 2060, occupant la totalité de la surface à cultures fruitières d'ici 2085.
Figure 2. Probabilité d'apparition d'une troisième génération de chenilles du carpocapse de la pomme pour différents horizons temporels et scénarios d'émissions. La zone grise correspond à la surface cultivée à fruits dans les conditions climatiques actuelles. Les scénarios climatiques CH2011 constituent la base de calcul des cartes.
© Agroscope

Toutefois, pour qu'une troisième génération du carpocapse de la pomme puisse causer des dommages, il faut que les chenilles de cette génération puissent encore trouver des pommes à infester sur l'arbre. En fin de compte, c’est donc le développement phénologique de la plante hôte qui détermine le risque effectif d’infestation ; et celui-ci se différencie considérablement selon que les variétés de pommes soient à maturation précoce ou tardive.

Les résultats d'analyses récentes montrent, par exemple, qu'aujourd'hui, dans le sud de la Suisse, la probabilité qu’une chenille de la troisième génération du carpocapse de la pomme puisse causer des dommages n’est supérieure à 50% que pour la variété Golden Delicious à maturité tardive, alors qu’elle n'est que d'environ 10% pour la variété de pomme Gala à maturité plus précoce. À l'avenir, la probabilité d'infestation augmentera pour les deux variétés de pommes à cause de l’apparition d’une troisième génération de chenilles avant la récolte. Néanmoins, cette probabilité reste plus faible dans le cas de la variété Gala que dans celui de la variété Golden Delicious.

Dans le cas de la variété Gravensteiner à maturité très précoce, qui est aujourd'hui cultivée presque exclusivement dans le nord de la Suisse, la probabilité de dommages causés par une troisième génération de chenilles du carpocapse de la pomme avant la récolte restera négligeable jusqu'à la fin du siècle. Cela met en évidence le rôle du choix et de la sélection variétale afin de réduire le potentiel de dommages causés par les insectes. Des recherches dans ce sens sont menées notamment par Agroscope et le FiBL.


Informations complémentaires

Bibliographie

Ouvrages mentionnés dans le texte

Hirschi, M., Stoeckli, S., Dubrovsky, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W., Fischer, A. M., Duffy, B. and Samietz, J., 2012: Downscaling climate change scenarios for apple pest and disease modeling in Switzerland, Earth Syst. Dynam., 3(1), 33–47.

Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W. and Samietz, J. 2012: Impact of climate change on voltinism and prospective diapause induction of a global pest insect – Cydia pomonella (L.), PLoS ONE, 7(4), e35723.

Stöckli, S., Samietz, J., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Rotach, M. und Calanca, P., 2012: Einfluss der Klimaänderung auf den Apfelwickler, Schweizer Zeitschrift für Obst- und Weinbau, 19.

 

Ouvrages complémentaires

CH2014, 2014: CH2014-Impacts. Étapes menant à des scénarios quantitatifs concernant les conséquences des changements climatiques en Suisse. publié par OCCR, FOEN, MeteoSwiss, C2SM, Agroscope et ProClim, Berne, Suisse, 136 pp.

Felber, R., Stöckli, S., Calanca, P., 2018: Generic calibration of a simple model of diurnal temperature variations for spatial analysis of accumulated degree-days. Int. J. Biometeorol., 62, 621–630.

Harshman, J. M., Evans, K. M. and Hardner, C. M., 2016: Cost and accuracy of advanced breeding trial designs in apple, Hortic. Res., 3(1), 1–10.

Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Weigel, A. P., Calanca, P., Samietz, J. and Rotach, M. W., 2012: Monthly weather forecasts in a pest forecasting context: Downscaling, recalibration, and skill improvement, J. Appl. Meteorol. Clim., 51(9), 1633–1638.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Höhn, H., Schaub, L. and Höpli, H. U., 2008: Schädlingsprognose für den Obstbau, AGRARForschung, Forschungsanstalt Agroscope Changins-Wädenswil ACW, Wädenswil, Schweiz.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Razavi, E., Höpli, H. U., Höhn, H. and Schaub, L., 2011: Web-based decision support for sustainable pest management in fruit orchards: Development of the Swiss system SOPRA, INTECH Open Access Publisher.

Samietz, J., Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Höhn, H., Calanca, P. and Rotach, M., 2015: Modelling the impact of climate change on sustainable management of the codling moth (Cydia pomonella) as key pest in apple, in Acta Horticulturae, pp. 35–42, International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS), Leuven, Belgien.

Dernière modification 15.05.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Agroscope
Agroécologie et environnement
Groupe Climat et agriculture

Raphael Felber

FiBL
Département des sciences des plantes

Sibylle Stöckli

Imprimer contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/fr/home/sektoren/landwirtschaft/auswirkungen-schadorganismen/cydia-pomonella.html