Native Pests in Fruit Production: The Codling Moth

The codling moth (Cydia pomonella) is considered to be one of the key pests in fruit production. The grub causes damage by boring into the apple (Fig. 1). Under current climatic conditions, one grub generation per year is observed in northern Switzerland. By contrast, two grub generations per year always appear in southern Switzerland. In warmer years, a second generation is possible in northern Switzerland, whilst a third grub generation may actually develop in southern Switzerland (Fig. 2).

A halved apple with a codling moth grub near the core. The grub has eaten its way through the apple from the side to the core. Isolated grub droppings can be seen in the feeding tunnel.
Figure 1. The grub of the codling moth feeds inside the fruit.
© Agroscope

Studies have shown that climate change will lead to an earlier start to the flight period of the overwintering generation, and to an even earlier occurrence of the subsequent stages of development (Stöckli et al., 2012). What’s more, data from warmer regions indicate that through natural adaptation to higher temperatures, the codling moth may go into the dormant stage later (Hirschi et al., 2012, Stoeckli et al., 2012). All this increases the likelihood that in future, the codling moth will more often develop two to three generations a year in northern Switzerland, and three generations a year in southern Switzerland (CH2014). This must be borne in mind when adapting control strategies (Stoeckli et al., 2012).

The regions in which, in the future, a third generation of grubs is likely to occur will enclose the Swiss Central Plateau, the Three-Lakes Region, the region around Lake Geneva, and the Rhine Valley, even under the assumption of a climate-stabilising emission scenario (RCP3PD; Fig. 2). With the assumption of emission scenarios that do not provide for any mitigating intervention, the potential distribution range of a third generation of grubs becomes significantly larger, encompassing the whole of Switzerland’s fruit-growing area (A1B and A2).

The graphics show maps of Switzerland that illustrate the probability of the occurrence of a third codling-moth grub generation. A total of ten maps are presented for different combinations of timescales (the present, 2035, 2060 and 2085) and emission scenarios (RCP3PD, A1B and A2). The current fruit-growing area is coloured grey. The likelihood of the occurrence of a third generation of grubs is shown by means of a three-level colour scale, ranging from light-yellow (low probability) to orange (moderate probability) to red (high probability). The map for the current climate shows a high probability of occurrence in the lower-lying valleys of Ticino, and a low probability in the canton of Geneva and along the Rhone. All three scenarios show a similar picture for 2035. In Ticino and in the canton of Geneva, along Lake Geneva, in the Rhone valley and in Basel, the probability of occurrence is high; but the Three Lakes Region, the Rhine Valley and Freiamt will also potentially be affected by a third generation of codling moth.  Assuming the RCP3PD emission scenario, the areas with a high likelihood of occurrence for the 2060 and 2085 timescales increase slightly in size. If emission scenarios A1B and A2 are assumed, however, the extent of the areas with a high probability of occurrence is considerably larger. Around 2060, the areas include large parts of the Swiss Central Plateau and Rhone and Rhine Valleys as well as the canton of Jura, and by 2085 they completely encompass the current fruit-growing area.
Figure 2. Probability of the occurrence of a third generation of codling moth grubs for various timescales and emission scenarios. The grey-shaded area corresponds to the region in which fruits are grown under current climatic conditions. The CH2011 climate scenarios form the basis for the calculation of the maps.
© Agroscope

Whether a third generation of codling moths can actually cause damage, however, depends on whether the grubs of this generation still find apples on the trees that they might attack. Ultimately, therefore, the phenological development of the host plant determines the effective risk of infestation; and this varies greatly depending on whether the apple varieties potentially affected are early- or late-ripening ones.

Results of more-recent analyses, for instance, show that nowadays in southern Switzerland, the likelihood of damage from a third generation of codling moth grubs exceeds 50% only in the case of the late-ripening variety Golden Delicious, whilst the probability for the earlier-ripening apple variety Gala stands at only around 10%. In future, the likelihood of a pre-harvest infestation by a third generation of grubs will increase for both apple varieties, but will remain lower for Gala than for Golden Delicious.

For the very-early-ripening Gravenstein variety, which nowadays is grown almost exclusively in northern Switzerland, the probability of pre-harvest damage by a third generation of codling moth grubs remains negligible, even up to the end of the current century. This underscores the future role of the variety selection and breeding to reduce the potential for damage by insects. Research aimed at this is carried out inter alia by Agroscope and the FiBL.


Additional Information

Literature

References Cited in the text

Hirschi, M., Stoeckli, S., Dubrovsky, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W., Fischer, A. M., Duffy, B. and Samietz, J., 2012: Downscaling climate change scenarios for apple pest and disease modeling in Switzerland, Earth Syst. Dynam., 3(1), 33–47.

Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W. and Samietz, J. 2012: Impact of climate change on voltinism and prospective diapause induction of a global pest insect – Cydia pomonella (L.), PLoS ONE, 7(4), e35723.

Stöckli, S., Samietz, J., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Rotach, M. und Calanca, P., 2012: Einfluss der Klimaänderung auf den Apfelwickler, Schweizer Zeitschrift für Obst- und Weinbau, 19.

 

Additional reading

CH2014-Impacts, 2014: Towards quantitative scenarios of climate change impacts in Switzerland, herausgegeben von OCCR, FOEN, MeteoSwiss, C2SM, Agroscope und ProClim, Bern, Schweiz, 136 pp.

Felber, R., Stöckli, S., Calanca, P., 2018: Generic calibration of a simple model of diurnal temperature variations for spatial analysis of accumulated degree-days, Int. J. Biometeorol., 62, 621–630.

Harshman, J. M., Evans, K. M. and Hardner, C. M., 2016: Cost and accuracy of advanced breeding trial designs in apple, Hortic. Res., 3(1), 1–10.

Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Weigel, A. P., Calanca, P., Samietz, J. and Rotach, M. W., 2012: Monthly weather forecasts in a pest forecasting context: Downscaling, recalibration, and skill improvement, J. Appl. Meteorol. Clim., 51(9), 1633–1638.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Höhn, H., Schaub, L. and Höpli, H. U., 2008: Schädlingsprognose für den Obstbau, AGRARForschung, Forschungsanstalt Agroscope Changins-Wädenswil ACW, Wädenswil, Schweiz.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Razavi, E., Höpli, H. U., Höhn, H. and Schaub, L., 2011: Web-based decision support for sustainable pest management in fruit orchards: Development of the Swiss system SOPRA, INTECH Open Access Publisher.

Samietz, J., Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Höhn, H., Calanca, P. and Rotach, M., 2015: Modelling the impact of climate change on sustainable management of the codling moth (Cydia pomonella) as key pest in apple, in Acta Horticulturae, pp. 35–42, International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS), Leuven, Belgien.

Last modification 12.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Agroscope
Agroecology and Environment
Climate and Agriculture Group

Raphael Felber

FiBL
Department of Crop Sciences

Sibylle Stöckli

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/sektoren/landwirtschaft/auswirkungen-schadorganismen/cydia-pomonella.html

Einheimische Schädlinge im Obstbau: Der Apfelwickler

Der Apfelwickler (Cydia pomonella) gilt als einer der wichtigsten Schädlinge im Obstanbau. Schäden werden durch die Raupe verursacht, wenn sie sich in den Apfel bohrt (Abb.1). Unter heutigem Klima wird in der Nordschweiz eine Raupengeneration beobachtet. In der Südschweiz treten dagegen immer zwei Raupengenerationen auf. In wärmeren Jahren kann sich in der Nordschweiz eine zweite, in der Südschweiz sogar eine dritte Raupengeneration ausbilden (Abb. 2).

Ein halbierter Apfel mit einer Raupe des Apfelwicklers nahe dem Apfelkern. Die Raupe hat sich von der Seite zum Kerngehäuse durchgefressen. Im Frass-Gang sieht man vereinzelte Kotkrümel der Raupe.
Abbildung 1. Die Raupe des Apfelwicklers ernährt sich im Innern der Frucht.
© Agroscope

Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass der Klimawandel zu einem früheren Flugbeginn der überwinternden Generation und zu einem noch früheren Auftreten der nachfolgenden Entwicklungsstadien führen wird (Stöckli u.a. 2012). Auch deuten Daten aus wärmeren Gegenden darauf hin, dass der Apfelwickler durch natürliche Anpassung an höhere Temperaturen später in die Winterruhe gehen könnte (Hirschi u.a. 2012, Stoeckli u.a. 2012). All dies erhöht die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass der Apfelwickler künftig in der Nordschweiz vermehrt zwei bis drei, in der Südschweiz sogar jedes Jahr drei Generationen entwickeln wird (CH2014). Die Anpassung der Bekämpfungsstrategien muss dem Rechnung tragen (Stoeckli u.a. 2012).

Die Gebiete, in denen eine dritte Raupengeneration mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit auftreten könnte, werden sich in der Zukunft auf das zentrale Mittelland, das Drei-Seen-Land, die Region um den Genfer See und das Rheintal ausdehnen, auch unter Annahme eines klimastabilisierenden Emissionsszenarios (RCP3PD; Abb. 2). Wesentlich grösser, die ganze Obstanbaufläche der Schweiz einschliessend, wird das potentielle Ausbreitungsgebiet einer dritten Raupengeneration unter Annahme von Emissionsszenarien, die keine mindernde Intervention vorsehen (A1B und A2).

Die Grafik zeigt Schweizer Karten, welche die Wahrscheinlichkeit des Auftretens einer dritten Raupen-Generation des Apfelwicklers illustrieren. Es werden insgesamt zehn Karten für verschiedene Kombinationen von Zeithorizonten (Gegenwart, 2035, 2060 und 2085) und Emissionsszenarien (RCP3PD, A1B und A2) gezeigt. Das heutige Obstanbaugebiet ist grau eingefärbt. Die Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit einer dritten Raupen-Generation wird mittels einer dreistufigen Farbskala von hell gelb (geringe Wahrscheinlichkeit) über orange (mittlere Wahrscheinlichkeit) zu rot (hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit) angegeben. Die Karte des gegenwärtigen Klimas zeigt eine hohe Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit in den tieferliegenden Tälern des Tessins und eine geringe Wahrscheinlichkeit im Kanton Genf sowie entlang der Rhone. Für 2035 zeigen alle drei Emissionsszenarien ein ähnliches Bild. Im Tessin, im Kanton Genf, entlang des Genfersees, im Rhonetal sowie in Basel ist die Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit gross. Potenziell betroffen von einer dritten Raupen-Generation des Apfelwicklers sind aber auch das Drei-Seen-Land, das Rheintal und das Freiamt.  Unter Annahme des Emissionsszenarios RCP3PD vergrössern sich die Gebiete mit einer hohen Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit für die Zeithorizonte 2060 und 2085 leicht. Deutlich ausgeprägter ist die Ausdehnung der Gebiete mit einer hohen Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit unter Annahme der Emissionsszenarien A1B und A2. Sie umfassen um 2060 grosse Teile des Mittellandes, des Rhone- und des Rheintals sowie den Kanton Jura und nehmen bis 2085 das heutige Obstanbaugebiet vollständig ein.
Abbildung 2. Wahrscheinlichkeit des Auftretens einer dritten Raupengeneration des Apfelwicklers für verschiedene Zeithorizonte und Emissionsszenarien. Die grau eingefärbte Fläche entspricht jenem Gebiet, in dem unter heutigen Klimabedingungen Obst angebaut wird. Basis für die Berechnung der Karten sind die Klimaszenarien CH2011.
© Agroscope

Ob eine dritte Generation des Apfelwicklers tatsächlich Schäden verursachen kann, hängt allerdings davon ab, ob die Raupen dieser Generation auch noch Äpfel am Baum finden, die sie befallen können. Letztendlich bestimmt also die phänologische Entwicklung der Wirtspflanze die effektive Gefahr eines Befalls, und diese unterscheidet sich stark, je nachdem, ob es sich um früh- oder spätreifende Apfelsorten handelt.

Resultate neuerer Analysen zeigen zum Beispiel, dass heute in der Südschweiz die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Schadens durch eine dritte Raupengeneration des Apfelwicklers nur bei der spätreifenden Sorte Golden Delicious bei über 50 % liegt, während bei der früher reifenden Apfelsorte Gala die Wahrscheinlichkeit bei nur etwa 10 % liegt. In Zukunft wird sich die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Befalls durch eine dritte Raupengeneration vor der Ernte für beide Apfelsorten erhöhen. Dennoch bleibt sie bei der Sorte Gala geringer als bei der Sorte Golden Delicious.

Bei der sehr früh reifenden Sorte Gravensteiner, die heute fast ausschliesslich in der Nordschweiz angebaut wird, bleibt die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Schadens durch eine dritte Raupengeneration des Apfelwicklers vor der Ernte sogar bis Ende des Jahrhunderts vernachlässigbar klein. Dies hebt die zukünftige Rolle der Sortenwahl und der Züchtung für die Minderung des Schadenpotentials durch Insekten hervor. Forschung in diese Richtung wird unter anderem von Agroscope und dem FiBL betrieben.


Weiterführende Informationen

Literatur

Im Text erwähnte Literatur

Hirschi, M., Stoeckli, S., Dubrovsky, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W., Fischer, A. M., Duffy, B. und Samietz, J. 2012: Downscaling climate change scenarios for apple pest and disease modeling in Switzerland, Earth Syst. Dynam., 3(1), 33–47.

Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Calanca, P., Rotach, M. W. und Samietz, J. 2012: Impact of climate change on voltinism and prospective diapause induction of a global pest insect – Cydia pomonella (L.), PLoS ONE, 7(4), e35723.

Stöckli, S., Samietz, J., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Rotach, M. und Calanca, P. 2012: Einfluss der Klimaänderung auf den Apfelwickler, Schweizer Zeitschrift für Obst- und Weinbau, 19.

 

Weiterführende Literatur (englisch und deutsch)

CH2014, 2014: CH2014-Impacts.Towards quantitative scenarios of climate change impacts in Switzerland, herausgegeben von OCCR, FOEN, MeteoSwiss, C2SM, Agroscope und ProClim, Bern, Schweiz, 136 pp.

Felber, R., Stöckli, S., Calanca, P. 2018: Generic calibration of a simple model of diurnal temperature variations for spatial analysis of accumulated degree-days, Int. J. Biometeorol., 62, 621–630.

Harshman, J. M., Evans, K. M. and Hardner, C. M. 2016: Cost and accuracy of advanced breeding trial designs in apple, Hortic. Res., 3(1), 1–10.

Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Weigel, A. P., Calanca, P., Samietz, J. und Rotach, M. W. 2012: Monthly weather forecasts in a pest forecasting context: Downscaling, recalibration, and skill improvement, J. Appl. Meteorol. Clim., 51(9), 1633–1638.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Höhn, H., Schaub, L. und Höpli, H. U. 2008: Schädlingsprognose für den Obstbau, AGRARForschung, Forschungsanstalt Agroscope Changins-Wädenswil ACW, Wädenswil, Schweiz.

Samietz, J., Graf, B., Razavi, E., Höpli, H. U., Höhn, H. und Schaub, L. 2011: Web-based decision support for sustainable pest management in fruit orchards: Development of the Swiss system SOPRA, INTECH Open Access Publisher.

Samietz, J., Stoeckli, S., Hirschi, M., Spirig, C., Höhn, H., Calanca, P. und Rotach, M. 2015: Modelling the impact of climate change on sustainable management of the codling moth (Cydia pomonella) as key pest in apple, in Acta Horticulturae, pp. 35–42, International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS), Leuven, Belgien.

Letzte Änderung 25.01.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Agroscope
Agrarökologie und Umwelt
Gruppe Klima und Landwirtschaft

Raphael Felber

FiBL
Departement für Nutzpflanzenwissenschaften

Sibylle Stöckli

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/sektoren/landwirtschaft/auswirkungen-schadorganismen/cydia-pomonella.html