Dry summers

In the long term, average amounts of precipitation in the summer months will shrink, and evaporation will increase. The ground will become drier, there will be fewer rainy days and the longest precipitation-free period will last longer.      

 

Summer precipitation Longest dry period in summer

Summer temperature

 

Possible around mid-century

-25 % to +10 %

+0 to +9 days

+2.5 °C to +4.5 °C

Possible by the end of the century

-40 % to 0 %

+1 to +9 days

+4 °C to +7 °C

Possible range of changes in comparison to 1981 to 2010 without climate change mitigation (simulation range). Typical 30-year averages across Switzerland. Temperature changes are rounded to 0.5 °C, and precipitation changes to 5%.
Possible scenario in 2060

The average near-surface air temperature in Switzerland through June, July and August is about 4.5 °C warmer than today. At the same time, there is up to a quarter less rainfall, and the longest dry period without precipitation in summer lasts about 20 days instead of 11.

A noticeable reduction in precipitation during the summer months is expected in the future. Although we are still experiencing a similar amount of rainfall on an average rainy day in summer as in the past, there are now more days without rain. The longest dry period in summer may last about a week longer on average by the middle of the century. 

In general, areas in the west and the south will be more affected by a potential decrease in rainfall than eastern regions. Not only will there be less rain, but because of the high temperatures, more moisture will evaporate than it does at present. The ground will thus become drier, even if the amount of rainfall does not change. 

The trend towards dryness will further increase with continued climate change. By the end of the century, dryness to an extent that has occurred only once or twice every ten years in the past could be occurring every two years. 

Average temperatures can be simulated quite reliably with climate models. Precipitation is more difficult to predict, as it is subject to significant natural variations in terms of amount and distribution. This is due to the wide range of mechanisms that determine the atmospheric water balance. Despite such uncertainty, the climate simulations clearly indicate a long-term trend of reduced precipitation in summer. 

The summers of 2003 and 2018 provide an idea of the potential effects of hot, dry summers. Apart from agriculture, the energy production and water management sectors are also affected by increasing dryness in summer.

The key messages can also be found in the CH2018 brochure, which is available in printed form or as an electronic download. 

Last modification 06.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

« In extreme dryness, just one spark is enough to ignite a forest fire. The Climate Scenarios CH2018 help me to make more accurate assessments of the risk of forest fires as a result of climate change. »

Dr. Marco Conedera, Head of Community Ecology Research Unit at WSL
 

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/kernaussagen/trockene-sommer.html

Été secs

À long terme, les quantités de précipitations moyennes diminueront et l’évaporation augmentera pendant les mois d’été. Les sols seront plus secs, les jours de pluie se feront plus rares et la plus longue période sans précipitations s’allongera.      

 

Précipitations estivales

Période de sécheresse estivale la plus longue

Températures estivales

Changements possibles au milieu du 21ème siècle

-25 % à +10 %

+0 à +9 jours

+2,5 °C à +4,5 °C

Changements possibles vers la fin du 21ème siècle

-40 % à 0 %

+1 à +9 jours

+4 °C à +7 °C

Changements possibles par rapport à 1981-2010 sans mesures de protection du climat (plage des valeurs possibles sur l’ensemble des simulations). Valeurs moyennes types sur 30 ans pour l'ensemble de la Suisse. Les changements de température sont donnés avec une précision de 0,5 °C et ceux de précipitations avec une précision de 5 %.
Scénario possible pour 2060

En Suisse, les températures sont en moyenne plus élevées d’environ 4,5 degrés Celsius en juin, juillet et août. Parallèlement, il tombe jusqu’à 25 % de pluie en moins et la plus longue période sans précipitations dure près de 20 jours, contre 11 jours aujourd’hui.

Durant les mois d'été, même si la moyenne quotidienne des précipitations reste similaire à celle d'aujourd'hui, il y aura davantage de jours sans pluie. Au milieu du siècle, la plus longue période sans précipitations pourrait durer, en moyenne, une semaine de plus qu'actuellement.

L’Ouest et le Sud de notre pays seront généralement plus touchés que l’Est par ce recul notable de précipitations. Non seulement la pluie se raréfiera, mais l’humidité s’évaporera davantage du fait de la hausse des températures. Les sols seront donc plus secs, même si les précipitations ne devaient pas diminuer.

Si le changement climatique ne fléchit pas, la tendance à la sécheresse s'accentuera encore. Vers la fin du siècle, une sécheresse qui survient actuellement une à deux fois tous les dix ans pourrait survenir une année sur deux.

Si les modèles climatiques permettent de simuler avec fiabilité les températures moyennes, il est en revanche difficile de prévoir la forte variabilité naturelle des précipitations aussi bien en termes de quantité que de la répartition géographique. Cela est lié à la grande diversité des mécanismes qui déterminent la teneur en vapeur d’eau de l’atmosphère. Malgré cette incertitude, les simulations montrent une nette tendance à une baisse des précipitations estivales à long terme.

Les étés 2003 et 2018 nous donnent une idée des possibles incidences des étés chauds et secs. Outre l’agriculture, la production d’énergie et la gestion de l’eau sont également touchées.

Les messages clés se trouvent également dans la brochure CH2018, qui est disponible sous forme imprimée ou téléchargeable électroniquement.

Dernière modification 06.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de météorologie et climatologie MétéoSuisse
Operation Center 1
Case postale 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Aéroport

Scénarios climatiques
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Imprimer contact

« En cas de sécheresse exceptionnelle, il suffit d’une étincelle pour
déclencher un incendie de forêt. Les scénarios climatiques CH2018 m’aident à
estimer plus précisément ce risque lié au changement climatique. »

Dr. Marco Conedera,
chef d’unité de recherche Écologie des communautés (WSL)

 

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/fr/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/kernaussagen/trockene-sommer.html