Dry summers

In the long term, average amounts of precipitation in the summer months will shrink, and evaporation will increase. The ground will become drier, there will be fewer rainy days and the longest precipitation-free period will last longer.      

 

Summer precipitation Longest dry period in summer

Summer temperature

 

Possible around mid-century

-25 % to +10 %

+0 to +9 days

+2.5 °C to +4.5 °C

Possible by the end of the century

-40 % to 0 %

+1 to +9 days

+4 °C to +7 °C

Possible range of changes in comparison to 1981 to 2010 without climate change mitigation (simulation range). Typical 30-year averages across Switzerland. Temperature changes are rounded to 0.5 °C, and precipitation changes to 5%.
Possible scenario in 2060

The average near-surface air temperature in Switzerland through June, July and August is about 4.5 °C warmer than today. At the same time, there is up to a quarter less rainfall, and the longest dry period without precipitation in summer lasts about 20 days instead of 11.

A noticeable reduction in precipitation during the summer months is expected in the future. Although we are still experiencing a similar amount of rainfall on an average rainy day in summer as in the past, there are now more days without rain. The longest dry period in summer may last about a week longer on average by the middle of the century. 

In general, areas in the west and the south will be more affected by a potential decrease in rainfall than eastern regions. Not only will there be less rain, but because of the high temperatures, more moisture will evaporate than it does at present. The ground will thus become drier, even if the amount of rainfall does not change. 

The trend towards dryness will further increase with continued climate change. By the end of the century, dryness to an extent that has occurred only once or twice every ten years in the past could be occurring every two years. 

Average temperatures can be simulated quite reliably with climate models. Precipitation is more difficult to predict, as it is subject to significant natural variations in terms of amount and distribution. This is due to the wide range of mechanisms that determine the atmospheric water balance. Despite such uncertainty, the climate simulations clearly indicate a long-term trend of reduced precipitation in summer. 

The summers of 2003 and 2018 provide an idea of the potential effects of hot, dry summers. Apart from agriculture, the energy production and water management sectors are also affected by increasing dryness in summer.

The key messages can also be found in the CH2018 brochure, which is available in printed form or as an electronic download. 

Last modification 06.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

« In extreme dryness, just one spark is enough to ignite a forest fire. The Climate Scenarios CH2018 help me to make more accurate assessments of the risk of forest fires as a result of climate change. »

Dr. Marco Conedera, Head of Community Ecology Research Unit at WSL
 

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/kernaussagen/trockene-sommer.html

Trockene Sommer

Langfristig wird die mittlere Niederschlagsmenge in den Sommermonaten abnehmen und die Verdunstung zunehmen. Die Böden werden trockener, es gibt weniger Regentage, und die längste niederschlagsfreie Periode dauert länger.      

  Sommer-
niederschlag 
Längste Sommer-
Trockenperiode 
Sommer-
temperatur 
Möglich um Mitte 21. Jahrhundert 25% bis +10%  +0 bis +9 Tage  +2,5 °C bis +4,5 °C
Möglich gegen Ende 21. Jahrhundert 40% bis 0%  +1 bis +9 Tage  +4 °C bis +7 °C
Möglicher Bereich der Veränderungen gegenüber 1981–2010 ohne Klimaschutz (Bandbreite der Simulationen). Schweizweit typische 30-Jahres-Mittelwerte. Temperaturänderungen sind auf 0,5 Grad genau, Niederschlagsänderungen auf 5 Prozent genau angegeben.
Mögliches Szenario 2060

Die bodennahe Lufttemperatur der Schweiz ist im Durchschnitt der Sommermonate Juni, Juli und August etwa 4,5 Grad Celsius wärmer als heute. Gleichzeitig fällt bis zu einem Viertel weniger Regen, und die längste niederschlagsfreie Trockenperiode des Sommers dauert rund 20 statt 11 Tage wie bisher.

Für die Sommermonate ist in Zukunft mit einem spürbaren Rückgang des Niederschlags zu rechnen. An einem durchschnittlichen Regentag im Sommer fällt zwar im Schnitt ähnlich viel Niederschlag wie bisher. Aber es gibt mehr regenfreie Tage. Die längste Trockenperiode des Sommers kann Mitte des Jahrhunderts im Schnitt bis etwa eine Woche länger dauern als heute.

Generell sind Gebiete im Westen und Süden stärker vom möglichen Niederschlagsrückgang betroffen als solche im Osten. Es fällt nicht nur seltener Regen – wegen der höheren Temperaturen verdunstet auch mehr Feuchtigkeit als heute. Die Böden werden also trockener, selbst wenn der Niederschlag nicht abnehmen sollte.

Mit fortschreitendem Klimawandel nimmt die Tendenz zur Trockenheit weiter zu. Gegen Ende des Jahrhunderts könnte eine Trockenheit, wie sie bisher ein- bis zweimal in zehn Jahren auftrat, jedes zweite Jahr vorkommen.

Mittlere Temperaturen lassen sich mit Klimamodellen recht zuverlässig simulieren. Schwieriger sind Voraussagen beim Niederschlag, der starken natürlichen Schwankungen in Menge und Verteilung unterworfen ist. Dies hängt mit der grossen Vielfalt der Mechanismen zusammen, welche den Wasserhaushalt in der Atmosphäre bestimmen. Trotz dieser Unsicherheit zeigen die Klimasimulationen den langfristigen Trend zur Niederschlagsabnahme im Sommer deutlich.

Die Sommer 2003 und 2018 geben einen Eindruck über mögliche Auswirkungen von heissen und trockenen Sommern. Von der zunehmenden Sommertrockenheit ist neben der Landwirtschaft auch die Energieproduktion und die Wasserwirtschaft betroffen.

Die Kernaussagen finden Sie auch in der CH2018 Broschüre, die in gedruckter Form oder elektronisch als Download erhältlich ist.  

Letzte Änderung 28.03.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Klimaszenarien
Andreas Fischer

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

«Bei aussergewöhnlicher Trockenheit genügt ein Funke, um einen Waldbrand auszulösen. Die Klimaszenarien CH2018 helfen mir, das Waldbrandrisiko durch den Klimawandel genauer einzuschätzen.»

Dr. Marco Conedera, Leiter Forschungseinheit Ökologie der Lebensgemeinschaften WSL

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/kernaussagen/trockene-sommer.html