Cities and municipalities

Like all of Central Europe, Switzerland is one of the world's regions in which heat levels have increased the most over the last few decades. Over eighty percent of the Swiss population lived in urban areas in 2015, which corresponds to nearly seven million people. So, the impact is huge.            

In summer 2003 there were 42 hot days with a temperature of over 30° C. This led to a to a marked increase in mortality: In the summer 2003, 975 more people died than is otherwise usual at that time of the year. The summer heat of 2015, the second warmest of the 152-year recorded history, even surpassed the values of July and August 2003 and in 2018, a new record summer has already been noted. With climate change, heat stress also continues to increase in Switzerland, especially in urban areas.

The information campaigns of the Confederation and the cantons and their heat action plans

The heat action plans of the cantons regarding adaptation behaviour during periods of heat showed their first effects: In 2015, heat-related mortality was slightly lower than in 2003. In particular, the French- and Italian-speaking areas of Switzerland are focusing on health care provision and behavioural changes.

The Confederation’s measures

In the first part of its strategy for "Adapting to climate change in Switzerland" from 2012, the Federal Council defined the goals, challenges and fields of action. In it, the increasing heat stress in cities and major urban regions is described as one of the biggest cross-sectoral challenges. The accompanying 2014 Action Plan includes 63 measures, some of which aim to contribute to coping with heat stress in cities and major urban regions.

In order to initiate the implementation of the adaptation strategy at local, regional and cantonal levels, the FOEN launched the “Pilot programme for adaptation to climate change”. In the period 2014 to 2016, three projects were supported on the topic “Climate-adapted Urban and Settlement Development” (see under “Projects”). In the second phase of the pilot programme, there will once again be a topic on "Higher Heat Exposure".

In addition, a guideline for climate-adapted settlement development was developed by the FOEN. The guideline is intended to provide a quick overview of the increasing heat problem in cities and municipalities as well as the situation in Switzerland. In particular, however, the guideline is dedicated to the basics, strategies and measures that help cities and municipalities focus on the increasing heat stress and thus reduce their negative consequences as much as possible.

The FOEN has developed a concept for a climate programme in close cooperation with the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). Realisation started in 2017.

In communication, the programme aims to support municipalities with advice and information. In this way, they can also fulfil their role-model function in climate issues and make an important contribution with their public relations work in order to sensitize the population, associations and companies on climate- and energy-related topics and show them options for action.

Central to the success of the programme is also a partnership with energy cities and communities. 

Further informations

Last modification 06.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment 
Reporting and Adaptation Section

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/regionen/staedte-und-gemeinden.html

Villes et communes

La Suisse fait partie, tout comme l’ensemble de l’Europe centrale, des régions du globe qui ont enregistré la plus forte augmentation du nombre de jours de canicule au cours des dernières décennies. En 2015, plus de 80 % de la population suisse, soit près de sept millions de personnes, vivait dans des régions à caractère urbain. L’impact est donc très étendu.        

Durant la canicule historique de 2003, on a enregistré 42 jours avec des températures dépassant les 30 °C ainsi qu’un accroissement sensible de la mortalité : le nombre de décès a été supérieur de 975 à celui généralement recensé à cette saison. Au cours de l’été 2015, le deuxième été le plus chaud répertorié en 152 ans de mesures, les valeurs de 2003 ont même été dépassées en juillet et en août, et 2018 se profile déjà comme un nouvel été record. Les changements climatiques accentueront encore les fortes chaleurs en Suisse, surtout dans les zones urbanisées.

Les campagnes d’information de la Confédération et des cantons, ainsi que leurs plans canicule

Les plans canicule des cantons sur les comportements appropriés en période de canicule ont commencé à produire leurs premiers effets : la mortalité liée à la canicule a quelque peu régressé en 2015 par rapport à 2003. La Suisse romande et la Suisse italienne ont surtout mis l’accent sur la prévention sanitaire et l’adaptation des comportements.

Mesures de la Confédération

Dans le premier volet de sa stratégie d’adaptation de la Suisse aux changements climatiques adopté en 2002, le Conseil fédéral a défini les objectifs, les défis et les champs d’action. L’accentuation des fortes chaleurs dans les villes et les agglomérations y est décrite comme l’un des plus grands défis transversaux à relever. Le plan d’action de 2014, deuxième volet de la stratégie, comporte 63 mesures dont certaines ont pour objectif de contribuer à maîtriser l’accentuation des fortes chaleurs dans les villes et les agglomérations.

L’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV) a lancé le programme pilote « Adaptation aux changements climatiques » afin de mettre en œuvre la stratégie d’adaptation aux plans local, régional et cantonal. Entre 2014 et 2016, trois projets sur la thématique du développement urbain adapté aux changements climatiques ont été soutenus (voir « Projets »). L’accentuation des fortes chaleurs figure également parmi les champs thématiques de la deuxième phase du programme pilote.

L’OFEV a en outre élaboré un guide sur le développement urbain adapté aux changements climatiques qui présente une brève vue d’ensemble de la problématique de l’augmentation de la chaleur dans les villes et les communes ainsi que de la situation prévalant en Suisse. Ce guide est toutefois plus particulièrement consacré aux bases, aux stratégies et aux mesures destinées à aider les villes et les communes à s’adapter à l’accentuation des fortes chaleurs et à limiter autant que possible leurs conséquences néfastes.

L’OFEV a élaboré, en étroite collaboration avec l’Office fédéral de l’énergie, le Programme Climat, dont la mise en œuvre a débuté en 2017.

Ce programme vise, entre autres, à fournir aux communes des informations et des conseils en matière de communication afin qu’elles puissent assumer leur rôle de modèle, contribuer à sensibiliser la population, les associations et les entreprises aux questions climatiques et énergétiques et les informer sur les possibilités d’action.

La collaboration avec les Cités de l’énergie et les communes est également essentielle pour garantir le succès du programme. 

Projets

Liste des projets d’adaptation en milieu urbain :

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 06.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de l'environnement OFEV
Rapports climatiques et adaptation aux changements

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/fr/home/regionen/staedte-und-gemeinden.html