Cities and municipalities

Like all of Central Europe, Switzerland is one of the world's regions in which heat levels have increased the most over the last few decades. Over eighty percent of the Swiss population lived in urban areas in 2015, which corresponds to nearly seven million people. So, the impact is huge.            

In summer 2003 there were 42 hot days with a temperature of over 30° C. This led to a to a marked increase in mortality: In the summer 2003, 975 more people died than is otherwise usual at that time of the year. The summer heat of 2015, the second warmest of the 152-year recorded history, even surpassed the values of July and August 2003 and in 2018, a new record summer has already been noted. With climate change, heat stress also continues to increase in Switzerland, especially in urban areas.

The information campaigns of the Confederation and the cantons and their heat action plans

The heat action plans of the cantons regarding adaptation behaviour during periods of heat showed their first effects: In 2015, heat-related mortality was slightly lower than in 2003. In particular, the French- and Italian-speaking areas of Switzerland are focusing on health care provision and behavioural changes.

The Confederation’s measures

In the first part of its strategy for "Adapting to climate change in Switzerland" from 2012, the Federal Council defined the goals, challenges and fields of action. In it, the increasing heat stress in cities and major urban regions is described as one of the biggest cross-sectoral challenges. The accompanying 2014 Action Plan includes 63 measures, some of which aim to contribute to coping with heat stress in cities and major urban regions.

In order to initiate the implementation of the adaptation strategy at local, regional and cantonal levels, the FOEN launched the “Pilot programme for adaptation to climate change”. In the period 2014 to 2016, three projects were supported on the topic “Climate-adapted Urban and Settlement Development” (see under “Projects”). In the second phase of the pilot programme, there will once again be a topic on "Higher Heat Exposure".

In addition, a guideline for climate-adapted settlement development was developed by the FOEN. The guideline is intended to provide a quick overview of the increasing heat problem in cities and municipalities as well as the situation in Switzerland. In particular, however, the guideline is dedicated to the basics, strategies and measures that help cities and municipalities focus on the increasing heat stress and thus reduce their negative consequences as much as possible.

The FOEN has developed a concept for a climate programme in close cooperation with the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). Realisation started in 2017.

In communication, the programme aims to support municipalities with advice and information. In this way, they can also fulfil their role-model function in climate issues and make an important contribution with their public relations work in order to sensitize the population, associations and companies on climate- and energy-related topics and show them options for action.

Central to the success of the programme is also a partnership with energy cities and communities. 

Further informations

Last modification 06.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment 
Reporting and Adaptation Section

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/regionen/staedte-und-gemeinden.html

Städte und Gemeinden

Wie ganz Zentraleuropa gehört die Schweiz weltweit zu denjenigen Regionen, in denen die Hitzetage über die letzten Jahrzehnte am meisten zugenommen haben. Über achtzig Prozent der Schweizer Bevölkerung lebten 2015 in Räumen mit städtischem Charakter, was knapp sieben Millionen Menschen entspricht. Die Betroffenheit ist also gross.    

Im Jahrhundertsommer 2003 gab es 42 Hitzetage mit einer Temperatur von über 30 °C. Dies führte zu einer deutlich erhöhten Sterblichkeit: Im Sommer 2003 starben 975 Personen mehr als sonst zu der Jahreszeit üblich. Der Hitzesommer von 2015 als zweitwärmster der 152-jährigen Messgeschichte übertraf im Juli und August sogar die Werte das Jahres 2003, und schon 2018 ist ein neuer Rekordsommer zu verzeichnen. Mit dem Klimawandel wird die Hitzebelastung auch in der Schweiz und v.a. in städtischen Gebieten weiter zunehmen.

Die Informationskampagnen von Bund und Kantonen sowie deren Hitzemassnahmenpläne

Die Hitzemassnahmenpläne der Kantone zum angepassten Verhalten während Hitzeperioden zeigten erste Wirkung: Im Jahr 2015 war die hitzebedingte Sterblichkeit etwas tiefer als 2003. Vor allem die französisch- und die italienischsprachige Schweiz setzen Schwerpunkte in Hinblick auf Gesundheitsvorsorge und Verhaltensanpassungen.

Massnahmen des Bundes

Der Bundesrat legte im ersten Teil seiner Strategie zur «Anpassung an den Klimawandel in der Schweiz» von 2012 die Ziele, Herausforderungen und Handlungsfelder fest. Darin ist die zunehmende Hitzebelastung in Städten und Agglomerationen als eine der grössten sektorübergreifenden Herausforderungen beschrieben. Der zugehörige Aktionsplan von 2014 beinhaltet 63 Massnahmen, von denen einige zum Ziel haben, einen Beitrag zur Bewältigung der Hitzebelastung in Städten und Agglomerationen zu leisten.

Um die Umsetzung der Anpassungsstrategie auf lokaler, regionaler und kantonaler Ebene anzustossen, lancierte das BAFU das «Pilotprogramm zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel». Im Zeitraum 2014 bis 2016 wurden im Themenfeld «Klimaangepasste Stadt- und Siedlungsentwicklung» drei Projekte unterstützt (siehe unter «Projekte»). In der Zweiten Programmphase des Pilotprogramms wird es erneut ein Themenfeld zu «Grössere Hitzebelastung» geben.

Zudem wurde vom BAFU ein Leitfaden zur klimaangepassten Siedlungsentwicklung erarbeitet. Der Leitfaden soll einen schnellen Überblick geben über die zunehmende Hitzeproblematik in Städten und Gemeinden sowie über die Situation in der
Schweiz geben. Insbesondere widmet sich der Leitfaden jedoch den Grundlagen, Strategien und Massnahmen, mit deren Hilfe sich Städte und Gemeinden auf die steigende Hitzebelastung ausrichten und damit deren negativen Folgen möglichst weit reduzieren können.

Das BAFU hat in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) ein Konzept für ein Klimaprogramm erarbeitet. Die Realisierung startete im Jahr 2017.

In der Kommunikation will das Programm Gemeinden mit Beratungs- und Informationsangeboten unterstützen. Dadurch können sie ihre Vorbildfunktion auch in Klimafragen erfüllen und mit ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, um Bevölkerung, Vereine und Unternehmen für klima- und energierelevante Themen zu sensibilisieren und um ihnen Handlungsmöglichkeiten aufzuzeigen.

Zentral für den Erfolg des Programms ist auch eine partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit Energiestädten und Gemeinden. 

Projekte

Liste der Anpassungsprojekte mit städtischem Bezug:

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 06.12.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU
Klimaberichterstattung und –Anpassung

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/regionen/staedte-und-gemeinden.html