Climate services

Climate services are scientifically-based information and data about the past, present and future climate and its impacts on the environment, industry and society. They are the bedrock of climate-compatible decisions.

Climate services are developed in collaboration with users, thus providing measurable added value. Depending on the needs of the user, climate services include the development of climate scenarios, sector-specific and regional analyses of the impacts, risks and opportunities associated with climate change, and the identification of potential courses of action.

Illustration of two women and two men sitting at a desk. Three speech bubbles indicate that they are talking about climate services.
Comprehensive climate services do not only encompass climatological information and data but also deal with the socio-economic aspects of climate change, such as the risks and opportunities associated with it, and the possible courses of action.

Underpinning climate-compatible decision making

Climate services are essential for authorities, politicians and industry in underpinning the decision-making processes in relation to climate change mitigation and adaptation to climate change. Appropriate measures can only be properly developed and implemented with the help of climate services. That way, decision makers can manage climate-related risks more efficiently, identify opportunities at an early stage and optimise benefits and costs. The effectiveness and impact of the measures is monitored so as to continuously improve the climate services.

The schematic shows climate services in the form of data and information on the left, and measures on the right. In between these is an arrow with “Fundamental basis” written on it, pointing from the climate services to the measures. Another arrow, with “Monitoring” written on it, points back from the measures to the climate services.
Climate services are the basis for developing adaptation and mitigation measures. Monitoring them allows improvements to be made to the climate services.

Promoting and disseminating climate services

As a network agent and knowledge hub, the NCCS provides an interface with the users of climate services in the following ways:

  • NCCS web platform that brings together the available climate services;
  • NCCS Forum for a nation-wide dialogue among all actors involved in climate services;
  • Workshops and conferences for more in-depth exchange;
  • Publications and communication materials for awareness-raising and information.
Four equal-sized areas in the schematic illustration show the main ways in which climate services are promoted in Switzerland: 1. Web platform, 2. NCCS forum, 3. Workshops, and 4. Documents and media.
The NCCS coordinates the promotion of climate services and provides advice on how to use the information and data.

Priority themes in the NCCS

Learn more about climate services in the video

Last modification 11.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Office of the National Centre for Climate Services NCCS
Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Director
Angela Michiko Hama 

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/das-nccs-im-portrait/klimadienstleistungen.html

Klimadienstleistungen

Klimadienstleistungen sind wissenschaftlich basierte Informationen und Daten über das vergangene, aktuelle und zukünftige Klima und seine Folgen auf Umwelt, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Sie bilden die Grundlage für klimakompatible Entscheidungen.     

Klimadienstleistungen werden gemeinsam mit den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern entwickelt und stiften damit einen messbaren Mehrwert. Abhängig von den Bedürfnissen der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer gehören dazu unter anderem die Erarbeitung von Klimaszenarien, sektorspezifische und regionale Analysen von Auswirkungen sowie Risiken und Chancen des Klimawandels und das Aufzeigen von Handlungsoptionen. 

Zeichnung von zwei Frauen und zwei Männern an einem Bürotisch. Drei Sprechblasen deuten an, dass sie über Klimadienstleistungen sprechen.
Umfassende Klimadienstleistungen enthalten nicht nur klimatologische Informationen und Daten, sondern behandeln auch sozioökonomische Aspekte wie Risiken und Chancen des Klimawandels und Handlungsoptionen.

Grundlage für klimakompatible Entscheidungen

Klimadienstleistungen sind insbesondere für Behörden, Politik und Wirtschaft unerlässliche Entscheidungsgrundlagen in Bezug auf den Klimaschutz sowie für die Anpassung an den Klimawandel. Nur mit Hilfe von Klimadienstleistungen können gezielt Massnahmen
entwickelt und umgesetzt werden. So können Entscheidungsträger und Entscheidungsträgerinnen klimabedingte Risiken effizienter managen, Chancen frühzeitig erkennen und nutzen sowie Kosten optimieren. Um die Dienstleistungen ständig zu verbessern, wird die Wirkung der Massnahmen überwacht. 

Die schematische Darstellung zeigt Klimadienstleistungen in Form von Daten und Informationen links und Massnahmen rechts. Dazwischen zeigt ein Pfeil mit Beschriftung "Grundlage" von Klimadienstleistungen zu Massnahmen. Ein weiterer Pfeil mit Beschriftung "Überwachung" zeigt zurück von Massnahmen zu Klimadienstleistungen.
Klimadienstleistungen sind Grundlage für die Erarbeitung von Massnahmen. Deren Überwachung hilft bei der Verbesserung von Klimadienstleistungen.

Verbreitung von Klimadienstleistungen

Als Netzwerkagent und Wissensdrehscheibe pflegt das NCCS die Schnittstelle zu den Anwenderinnen und Anwendern von Klimadienstleistungen unter anderem über folgende Kanäle und Formate:

  • NCCS-Webplattform zur Bündelung von Klimadienstleistungen;
  • NCCS-Forum zum schweizweiten Dialog zwischen allen Akteuren und Akteurinnen im Bereich Klimadienstleistungen;
  • Workshops und Tagungen zum vertieften Austausch;
  • Publikationen und Kommunikationsmaterialien zur Bewusstseinsbildung und Information.
In vier gleichgrossen Bereichen der Grafik werden die zentralen Massnahmen zur Verbreitung der Klimadienstleistungen in der Schweiz schematisch dargestellt: 1. Webplattform, 2. NCCS-Forum, 3. Workshops, und 4. Dokumente und Medien.
Das NCCS koordiniert die Verbreitung von Klimadienstleistungen und berät im Umgang mit den Informationen und Daten.

Themenschwerpunkte im NCCS

Die Mitglieder und Partner des NCCS entwickeln Klimadienstleistungen in sektoralen und sektorübergreifenden Themenschwerpunkten und weiteren fachlichen Aktivitäten. Dies erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern im Sinne einer Ko-Produktion. 

Mehr über Klimadienstleistungen im Video

Letzte Änderung 11.12.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Geschäftsstelle National Centre for Climate Services NCCS
Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Geschäftsleitung
Angela Michiko Hama 

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/das-nccs/das-nccs-im-portrait/klimadienstleistungen.html