Forest functions and climate change

Forests perform many functions and provide services ranging from wood production, climate regulation, protection from natural hazards to providing habitat and recreational space. Changes in climate conditions can harm trees and forests, and affect crucial forests functions and Services.

Forests provide a variety of ecosystem services, ranging from wood production, provision of clean drinking water, regulation of the local climate, preservation of biodiversity, habitat for animals and plants to protection against natural hazards and the provision of recreational areas. Forests intensively store carbon and thus represent the largest terrestrial CO2 sink.

Climate change is occurring at a pace that mostly prevents evolutionary adaptation of trees and will thus have strong impact on the vitality, the function and the services of forests and on the habitat suitability of native tree species. Drought and high temperatures can jeopardize ecosystem services, for example by reducing tree growth and increasing mortality with impacts on carbon sequestration.

Practice- and policy-relevant robust scientific information on potential effects of increasing temperature and changing precipitation regimes on forest ecosystems is a prerequisite for modern, sustainable forest management. The NCCS priority theme “Forest functions and climate change” aims for the integration and synthesis of existing forest and climate information and the development of innovative new tools supporting communication and outreach for societal, economic and political decision making.

Fig. 1. Two work packages providing tools and information on short-term effects of weather extremes on forest and trees and long-term projections of species distribution and risk assessments for future climate scenarios.

The goal of the priority theme is to further improve the transfer of knowledge from science to practice using web-based tools.

Goals

The aims of the priority theme Forest functions and climate change are

(1) to develop web-based tools from existing data sources and models which present the projected changes in the structure and function of forest ecosystems both in the short and long term,

and thus

(2) to further improve the knowledge transfer from science to forest managers in order to adapt silvicultural measures to climate change.

With such web-based tools, informed decision making on various levels (forest owners, forest enterprises, cantonal authorities etc.) will be enabled. The goal is to foster proper understanding of future trajectories of forests and their services and to propose and justify climate adaptation strategies.

To achieve the goal of creating a concise and understandable web-based information source, results of the research program Forests and Climate Change will be linked with those of long-term monitoring within the framework of the LWF long-term forest ecosystem research, TreeNet – the biological drought and growth indicator network, the NFI, and other projects and programs. The aggregation of information on health status, mortality and climate change, risks of mal-adaptation, changes in habitat suitability of tree species and growth will be done in two major work packages (WP).

Work packages

Work package WP 1

Short-term information related to weather extremes and early warning tool: The information can be used as an early warning tool for immediate heat and drought induced threats and its consequences for stem growth and tree water availability. Moreover, the current stress information will be related to long-term projections to put the current information (i.e. stress level) at a given site into the longer-term context (Fig 1, left panel). The combination with seasonal forecasting tools, e.g., www.borkenkaefer.ch, the yearly Sanasilva data on crown condition and also the LWF meteo data will allow us to generate up-to-date information on climate and weather-related threats to forests and trees on the time scale from days to seasons.

Work package WP 2

Long-term projections of species distribution and risk assessments: Species distribution maps together with the maps of habitat suitability for >20 tree species and various climate projections originating from the research program Forests and Climate Change will be prepared. They provide a local and habitat specific risk assessment and a basis for informed decision-making in forestry (Fig. 1 right panel). Moreover, risks of genetic mal-adaptation of the main tree species will be visualized, exploiting a large common-garden experiment with beech, fir and spruce. The user of these tools will find answers to questions like “Which tree species is at risk in which region and which species will become suitable there in the future?”

The two WP (Short-term information/early warning, Long-term projections and risk assessment) will be linked to guide users through the different temporal scales. This will help them to understand how temperature, precipitation and extreme climatic events will affect near-term and long-term risks for forests and ecosystem services under different climate futures.

Last modification 12.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

WSL

Contact person
Prof. Dr. Arthur Gessler

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/waldfunktionen-und-klimawandel.html

Waldfunktionen und Klimawandel

Wälder erbringen zahlreiche Ökosystemleistungen. Sie produzieren Holz, regulieren das Klima, schützen vor Naturgefahren und bieten Lebens- und Erholungsraum für Pflanzen, Tiere und Menschen. Veränderte Klimabedingungen können Bäume und Wälder schädigen und wichtige Funktionen und Leistungen des Waldes beeinträchtigen.

Wälder bieten eine Vielzahl von Ökosystemleistungen. Sie produzieren Holz, versorgen uns mit sauberem Trinkwasser, regulieren das lokale Klima, tragen zur Erhaltung der biologischen Vielfalt und Lebensräume für Tiere und Pflanzen bei, schützen vor Naturgefahren und bieten dem Menschen Erholungsraum. Ausserdem speichern Wälder viel Kohlenstoff und stellen damit die grösste terrestrische CO2-Senke dar.

Der Klimawandel vollzieht sich in einem solch raschen Tempo, dass sich Bäume daran nicht genetisch anpassen können. Damit beeinflusst er nicht nur Vitalität, Funktion und Leistungen der Wälder, sondern auch, ob sich die heimischen Baumarten in Zukunft noch für ihre angestammten Lebensräume eignen. So können zum Beispiel Dürre und hohe Temperaturen Ökosystemleistungen wie die Speicherung von Kohlenstoff gefährden, wenn sich das Wachstum der Bäume verringert oder sich ihre Sterblichkeit erhöht.

Wer den Wald modern und nachhaltig bewirtschaften will, benötigt praxis- und politikrelevante Informationen aus der Wissenschaft, wie sich erhöhte Temperaturen und ein verändertes Niederschlagsregime auf Waldökosysteme auswirken. Das NCCS-Schwerpunktthema «Waldfunktionen und Klimawandel» möchte bestehende Wald- und Klimainformationen zusammenführen und innovative Instrumente entwickeln, die sich bei gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Entscheidungen beiziehen lassen.

Abb. 1: Zwei Arbeitspakete, die Instrumente und Informationen über kurzfristige Auswirkungen von Wetterextremen auf Wälder und Bäume sowie langfristige Prognosen zur Verteilung von Arten und Risikobewertungen für zukünftige Klimaszenarien liefern

Das Ziel des Themenschwerpunkts ist die weitere Verbesserung des Wissenstransfers von der Wissenschaft in die Praxis mittels webbasierter Werkzeuge.

Ziele

Die Ziele des Schwerpunktthemas «Waldfunktionen und Klimawandel» lauten wie folgt:

(1) webbasierte Werkzeuge aus bestehenden Datenquellen und Modellen zu entwickeln, die die vorhergesagten Veränderungen in der Struktur und Funktion von Waldökosystemen darstellen, sowohl auf einer kurz- als auch auf einer langfristigen Skala

und damit

(2) den Wissenstransfer von der Wissenschaft zur Forstpraxis weiter zu verbessern, um die waldbaulichen Massnahmen an den Klimawandel anzupassen.

Solche webbasierten Werkzeuge ermöglichen Akteuren auf verschiedenen Ebenen (Waldbesitzende, Forstunternehmen, kantonale Behörden etc.), fundierte Entscheidungen zu fällen. Ziel ist es, das Verständnis für die zukünftige Entwicklung von Wäldern und ihren Leistungen zu fördern und Strategien zur Klimaanpassung vorzuschlagen und zu begründen.

Um das Ziel einer prägnanten und verständlichen Web-Informationsplattform zu erreichen, werden die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprogramms «Wälder und Klimawandel» verknüpft mit Resultaten der Langfristigen Waldökosystemforschung LWF, von TreeNet – dem biologische Netzwerk für Trockenheits- und Baumwachstumsindikatoren, dem Landesforstinventar LFI und anderen Projekten und Programmen. Die Informationen über Gesundheitszustand, Mortalität und Klimawandel, Risiken einer Fehlanpassung, Veränderungen in der Habitateignung von Baumarten und Wachstum werden in zwei grossen Arbeitspaketen (WP) zusammengestellt.

Arbeitspakete

Arbeitspaket WP 1

Kurzfristige Informationen über Wetterextreme und Frühwarnsystem: Die Informationen lassen sich als Frühwarnsystem für unmittelbare Hitze- und Dürregefahren und deren Folgen für das Stammwachstum und die Wasserverfügbarkeit für Bäume nutzen. Darüber hinaus werden die aktuellen Informationen (d. h. der Belastungsgrad) an einem bestimmten Standort mit langfristigen Prognosen in Beziehung gesetzt und somit in einen längerfristigen Kontext gestellt (Abb. 1, linke Spalte). Die Kombination mit saisonalen Prognosetools wie www.borkenkaefer.ch, die jährlichen Sanasilva-Daten zum Kronenzustand oder die LWF-Meteodaten ermöglicht es, aktuelle Informationen über klima- und wetterbedingte Bedrohungen für Wälder und Bäume zu generieren, auf der Zeitskala von einzelnen Tagen bis hin zu einer Saison.

Arbeitspaket WP 2

Langfristprognosen für die Verteilung von Arten und Risikobewertungen: Es werden Verbreitungskarten von Arten zusammen mit den Karten der Habitat- und Standorteignung für >20 Baumarten und verschiedene Klimaszenarien aus dem Forschungsprogramm «Wald und Klimawandel» erstellt. Sie bieten eine lokale und standortspezifische Risikobewertung und eine Grundlage für fundierte Entscheidungen in der Forstwirtschaft (Abb. 1 rechtes Feld). Darüber hinaus werden die Risiken einer genetischen Fehlanpassung für die wichtigsten Baumarten visualisiert, aufgrund eines grossen Common-garden-Experiments mit Buche, Tanne und Fichte. Die Anwenderinnen und Anwender dieser Werkzeuge finden Antworten auf Fragen wie «Welche Baumart ist in welcher Region gefährdet und welche Art wird dort in Zukunft geeignet sein?»

Die beiden WP (Kurzzeitinformationen/Frühwarnung, langfristige Prognosen und Risikobewertung) werden miteinander verknüpft, um die Nutzenden durch die verschiedenen Zeitskalen zu führen. Dies wird ihnen helfen zu verstehen, wie sich Temperatur, Niederschläge und extreme klimatische Ereignisse auf kurz- und langfristige Risiken für Wälder und Ökosystemleistungen unter verschiedenen Klimaszenarien auswirken.

Letzte Änderung 25.02.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

WSL

Kontaktperson
Prof. Dr. Arthur Gessler

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/waldfunktionen-und-klimawandel.html