Solar energy: The solar potential of all roofs in Switzerland – a climate-related service

The interactive application sonnendach.ch shows users anywhere in Switzerland how well suited their building is for producing energy. sonnendach.ch was set up as part of the Swiss government’s Energy Strategy 2050, as a joint project between the Federal Office of Energy, the Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology (MeteoSwiss) and the Federal Office of Topography (swisstopo). For the purposes of the project, the company Meteotest collated all of the baseline data from the three Federal Offices and worked out the solar potential from these to provide a free climate-related service.

Illustration of the solar potential of house roofs in Locarno. The red areas indicate high potential; yellow and orange indicate medium potential and blue indicates low potential.
The solar potential of house roofs in Locarno (red: high potential; yellow/orange: medium potential; blue: low potential). Geodata © BFE, swisstopo, MeteoSwiss

After existing solar potential analyses were tested for their usefulness, the project  developed a new user friendly approach from scratch. sonnendach.ch enables interested members of the public to estimate their solar potential with one or two mouse clicks. Even those living in smaller communities will thus be able to get an estimate of the solar potential of their roof or facade.

The MeteoSwiss contribution

MeteoSwiss is participating in the project through its climate services in the context of the National Centre for Climate Services (NCCS). Our spatial data on incoming solar radiation differ according to the position of the sun, cloud cover and region. To estimate the local solar radiation, satellite measurements are used from the “METEOSAT Second Generation” geostationary earth-observation satellite. Satellite data are ideal for supplementing the ground-based measurements, as they supply information that fills the gaps in the ground-based data have gaps (see figure 2). The calculation method was developed and tested over several years in a collaborative research project in the context of the EUMETSAT Satellite Application Facility on Climate Monitoring (CM SAF) with a focus on the complex topography of the Alps.

The map of Switzerland shows the annual deviation of global radiation from the long term mean for 2017, in Watts per square meter, derived from satellite measurements. In 2017, central Switzerland and Ticino enjoyed above-average solar radiation.
Annual deviation of global radiation from the long term mean for 2017 in W/m2, derived from satellite measurements. Central Switzerland and Ticino enjoyed above-average solar radiation in 2017. The circles represent the measurements taken by the monitoring stations.

The Swiss government’s Energy Strategy 2050 stipulates that there should be a greater use of renewable forms of energy. The use of such energy is heavily dependent on weather and climate. MeteoSwiss therefore plays an important part in the efficient implementation of the energy strategy, thanks to its meteorological and climatological data and Expertise.

Last modification 26.10.2018

Top of page

Contact

Office of the National Centre for Climate Services NCCS
Federal Office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Director
Angela Michiko Hama 

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/weitere-fachliche-aktivitaeten/sonnendach--das-solarpotential-aller-schweizer-hausdaecher-als-k.html

Sonnendach: Das Solarpotential aller Schweizer Hausdächer als Klimadienst

Mit der interaktiven Anwendung sonnendach.ch ist für alle Immobilien der Schweiz ersichtlich, wie gut sie für die Energieproduktion geeignet sind. Sonnendach.ch wurde als Teil der Energiestrategie 2050 des Bundes als Gemeinschaftsprojekt zwischen dem Bundesamt für Energie, dem Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz und dem Bundesamt für Landestopographie swisstopo initiiert. Die Firma Meteotest verknüpfte im Projekt die Grundlagendaten der beteiligten Bundesämter und berechnete daraus das Solarpotenzial als frei verfügbarer Klimadienst.

Darstellung des Solarpotentials von Hausächern in Locarno. Die Farbe rot zeigt ein hohes Potential an, die Farben gelb udn orange ein mittleres sowie blau ein geringes Potential.
Solarpotential von Hausdächern in Locarno (rot: hohes Potential, gelb/orange: mittleres Potential, blau: geringes Potential). Geodaten © BFE, swisstopo, MeteoSchweiz

In diesem Projekt wurden bestehende Solarpotential-Analysen zuerst auf ihre Nutzbarkeit getestet und auf diesen Erkenntnissen basierend sonnendach.ch gebaut. Sonnendach.ch ermöglicht deshalb eine intuitive Schätzung des Solarpotenzials für interessierte Laien anhand von wenigen Mausklicks. Es soll auch Bewohnern von kleineren Gemeinden ermöglichen, das Solarpotenzial ihrer Fassade und ihres Daches abzuschätzen.

Der Beitrag von MeteoSchweiz

MeteoSchweiz trägt mit ihren Klimadienstleistungen im Rahmen des National Centre for Climate Services (NCCS) zum Projekt bei. Unsere räumlichen Daten der solaren Einstrahlung variieren je nach Sonnenstand, Bewölkung und Region. Verwendet werden zur räumlichen Schätzung der solaren Einstrahlung Satellitenmessungen des «METEOSAT Second Generation»-Satelliten, einem geostationären Erdbeobachtungssatelliten. Satellitenmessungen ergänzen die Bodenmessungen optimal, da sie auch dort Daten liefern, wo die Bodendaten Lücken aufweisen (Abbildung 2). Die Berechnungsmethode wurde in einer mehrjährigen Forschungszusammenarbeit im Rahmen der EUMETSAT Satellite Application Facility on Climate Monitoring (CM SAF) mit Augenmerk auf die komplexe Topographie der Alpen entwickelt und getestet.

Auf der Karte der Schweiz ist die Jahresabweichung der Globalstrahlung für das Jahr 2017 dargestellt, in Watt pro Quadratmeter hergeleitet aus Satellitenmessunge. 2017 hatten das Schweizer Mittelland und Tessin einen überdurchschnittlichen Strahlungsgenuss.
Jahres-Abweichung der Globalstrahlung für 2017 in W/m2 hergeleitet aus Satellitenmessungen. Das Schweizer Mittelland und Tessin hatten im 2017 einen überdurchschnittlichem Strahlungsgenuss. Die Kreise entsprechen den Messwerten an den Stationsdaten.

Die Energiestrategie 2050 des Bundes verlangt eine stärkere Nutzung von erneuerbaren Energien. Deren Verfügbarkeit wird aber stark von Wetter und Klima beeinflusst. MeteoSchweiz trägt deshalb mit meteorologischen und klimatologischen Daten und ihrer Expertise zur effizienten Umsetzung der Energiestrategie bei.

Letzte Änderung 26.10.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Geschäftsstelle National Centre for Climate Services NCCS
Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Geschäftsleitung
Angela Michiko Hama 

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/weitere-fachliche-aktivitaeten/sonnendach--das-solarpotential-aller-schweizer-hausdaecher-als-k.html