First NCCS Forum in 2017: A look back

On 5 December 2017, the National Centre for Climate Services (NCCS) presented itself, its objectives and activities at its very first NCCS forum held in Berne. The aim of the Swiss-wide event was to to foster the dialogue between producers and users of climate services, thereby facilitating the creation of networks and the mutual exchange of ideas and Needs.

Following an introduction on climate services and a presentation on the NCCS, three users reported on their need for climate services for their work : The financial expert Sabine Döbeli from Swiss Sustainable Finance explained the relevance of climate risks for the financial sector. The urban planner Lionel Tudisco presented the regional planning activities undertaken by the city of Sion in relation to the problems posed by the urban heat island and Pierre Lambert, owner of the vineyard “Domaine des Coccinelles”, outlined the impacts of climate change on wine growing.

In an informal poster & coffee session, NCCS members and partners provided information on the current status and activities of the NCCS in a number of key focus areas. These included the CH2018 climate change scenarios, projections of organisms harmful to agriculture, how to deal with heavy precipitation events and animal health. Ideas were shared in groups in a World Café, and user needs and networking needs were identified. It was found that the definition of climate services is still a matter of debate and that there is a desire to increase the use of social media and to organise specialist events. It was also found that there is a need for examples of good practice, guidelines for action and orientation tools at cantonal and municipal level; in relation to cooperation and networks, the importance of personal contact, the pooling of information and the promotion of dialogue was emphasised. All these and other findings will be incorporated into the future work of the NCCS and reflected in the strategy.

More than 150 people from the ranks of national, cantonal and municipal administration, science, business, politics and non-governmental organisations took part in the NCCS Forum, which was held for the first time.

Last modification 08.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Office of the National Centre for Climate Services NCCS
Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Director
Angela Michiko Hama

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/vernetzung/nccs-forum-und-workshops/erstes-nccs-forum-2017.html

Erstes NCCS-Forum 2017: ein Rückblick

Am 5. Dezember 2017 stellte das National Centre for Climate Services (NCCS)  sich und seine Aufgaben und Aktivitäten in seinem ersten Forum in Bern vor. Ziel des schweizweiten Anlasses war es, eine Schnittstelle für den Dialog zwischen Produzenten und Nutzern von Klimadienstleistungen zu schaffen, dadurch zu vernetzen sowie interaktiv Ideen und Bedürfnisse auszutauschen.

Nach einem Einstieg in die Klimadienstleistungs-Thematik und einer Präsentation zum NCCS berichteten drei Nutzerinnen und Nutzer, warum und wofür sie für ihre Arbeit Klimadienstleistungen benötigen: Die Finanzexpertin Sabine Döbeli von Swiss Sustainable Finance legte die Relevanz von Klimarisiken für das Finanzgeschäft dar. Der Stadtplaner Lionel Tudisco stellte die raumplanerischen Aktivitäten der Stadt Sion im Zusammenhang mit der Problematik der städtischen Hitzeinsel vor und Pierre Lambert, Eigentümer des Weinguts «Domaine des Coccinelles», zeigte die Einflüsse des Klimawandels auf den Weinanbau auf.

In einer informellen Poster & Kaffee-Session informierten die Mitglieder und Partner des NCCS über den Stand und die Tätigkeiten in den derzeit laufenden Themenschwerpunkten des NCCS. Diese reichen von den Klimaszenarien CH2018 über Schad-organismenszenarien für die Land-wirtschaft, den Umgang mit Starkniederschlagsereignissen bis hin zur Tiergesundheit. In einem World Café wurden Ideen in Gruppen ausge-tauscht sowie Nutzerbedürfnisse und der Vernetzungsbedarf eruiert. So wurde unter anderem festgehalten, dass das Verständnis von Klima-dienstleistungen noch nicht abgestimmt ist, eine vermehrte Nutzung der sozialen Medien und Durchführung von fachspezifischen Anlässen gewünscht ist. Als weiteres Beispiel besteht auf kantonaler und kommunaler Ebene Bedarf nach guten Praxisbeispielen, Handlungs-anleitungen und Orientierungshilfen; in Bezug auf Kooperationen und Netzwerken wurde die Bedeutung des persönlichen Kontakts, der Bündelung der Informationen und die Dialogförderung hervorgehoben. All diese und weitere Erkenntnisse werden in die zukünftige Arbeit des NCCS aufgenommen und in der Strategie reflektiert.

Mehr als 150 Personen aus den Reihen der nationalen, kantonalen und kommunalen Verwaltung, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Nicht-regierungsorganisationen nahmen am erstmalig abgehaltenen NCCS Forum teil.

Letzte Änderung 13.12.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Geschäftsstelle National Centre for Climate Services NCCS
Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Geschäftsleitung
Angela Michiko Hama 

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/das-nccs/vernetzung/nccs-forum-und-workshops/erstes-nccs-forum-2017.html