Options for action

Climate-related changes in the water cycle impact all areas of water management. The need for action results from lower outflows, the possible increase in drought and low water in summer, the rise in water temperatures and the increase in flooding. The changed water supply can lead to conflicts of use.

Fields of action and the Confederation’s goals

For water management, eight objectives can be defined:

  • The safety of large dams is guaranteed.
  • Water storage and distribution are designed to balance the effects of changed drainage regimes and to meet the various needs of the economy, society and ecology (setting priorities and practices in times of scarce water supply and multi-purpose use of existing reservoirs and lakes).
  • For watercourses, sufficient space is ensured for revitalization, flood control and ecology improvement so that they can perform their natural functions.
  • Drinking water supply and wastewater treatment are regionalised and networked (avoiding scarcity situations, avoidance of excessive pollution due to discharge into the watercourses during periods of low water or extreme events).
  • New cooling technologies make it possible to compensate for the decreasing cooling capacity of the watercourses and to comply with the statutory limit for the discharge of cooling water despite continued warming.
  • The legal foundations are reviewed and take into account - where necessary - the changing natural conditions (residual water, heat discharge, water returns, maritime regulation, etc.).
  • Selective measures on the Rhine waterway (eliminating local obstacles, deepening the channel) and exploiting technical possibilities in shipbuilding together with an improvement of the 4-5-day water level forecasts optimize the transport capacity in times of low water.
  • Conflicts of interest in cross-border water management are identified and resolved at an early stage, thanks to improved cooperation.

The field of soil erosion is included in the agriculture sector under the objective of site suitability. Recreational fishing also forms an aspect of the objective of habitats and species of the sector biodiversity management.

An overall coordination of water management has been missing so far. Adapting to climate change is a challenge that requires new, overarching concepts. In order to be able to successfully implement the goals mentioned above, some requirements must
be met:

  • A holistic understanding of water management must be established: water management addresses all human impacts on the resource of water and bodies of water and their associated infrastructures. It encompasses all targeted activities that serve the protection of waters, the use of water and protection against water.
  • A paradigm shift from a predominantly demand-oriented to a more supply-oriented water management is required: instead of simply using water, it must be managed sustainably in the future.
  • The institutional conditions for facilitating and promoting integral water management must be created. A first step has been taken with the document "River Basin Management - Guiding Principles for Integral Water Management in Switzerland".

The knowledge of the quantitative impacts of climate change on the water balance and the runoff is still insufficient. Therefore, the continuation and strengthening of the measurement networks and the climate and climate-impact modelling in the water
sector is essential.

Further informations

Specialist staff
Last modification 03.06.2016

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Reporting and Adaptation Section

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Print contact

Priority themes: Hydrological principles of climate change

The core topic of the NCCS Hydro-CH2018 focusses on the water resources and their future development. The objective is to supply the necessary fundamental hydrological principles for adaptation.

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/sektoren/wasserwirtschaft/handlungsoptionen.html

Handlungsoptionen

Die klimabedingten Veränderungen des Wasserkreislaufs wirken sich auf alle Bereiche der Wasserwirtschaft aus. Handlungsbedarf ergibt sich durch geringere Abflüsse, die mögliche Zunahme von Trockenheit und Niedrigwasser im Sommer, den Anstieg der Wassertemperaturen und die Zunahme von Hochwasser. Durch das veränderte Wasserdargebot kann es zu Nutzungskonflikten kommen.

Ausblick auf den Lauenensee mit Bergen im Hintergrund.

Handlungsfelder und Ziele des Bundes

Für die Wasserwirtschaft können zusammenfassend acht Ziele definiert werden:

  • Die Sicherheit der grossen Stauanlagen ist gewährleistet.
  • Wasserspeicherung und Wasserverteilung sind so ausgestaltet, dass die Auswirkungen veränderter Abflussregimes ausgeglichen und die verschiedenen Bedürfnisse von Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Ökologie (Festlegen von Prioritäten und Vorgehensweisen in Zeiten knappen Wasserdargebots sowie Mehrzwecknutzung von bestehenden Speichern und Seen) erfüllt werden.
  • Für die Fliessgewässer ist ausreichend Raum für Revitalisierung, Hochwasserschutz und Verbesserung der Ökologie sichergestellt, sodass sie ihre natürlichen Funktionen wahrnehmen können.
  • Trinkwasserversorgung und Abwasserreinigung sind regionalisiert und vernetzt (Vermeidung von Knappheitssituationen, Vermeidung übermässiger Belastung durch Einleitung in die Fliessgewässer während Niedrigwasserzeiten oder bei Extremereignissen).
  • Neue Kühltechnologien ermöglichen es, die abnehmende Kühlkapazität der Fliessgewässer auszugleichen und den gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Grenzwert für die Einleitung von Kühlwasser trotz fortschreitender Erwärmung einzuhalten.
  • Die gesetzlichen Grundlagen sind überprüft und berücksichtigen wo notwendig  die sich ändernden natürlichen Rahmenbedingungen (Restwasser, Wärmeeinleitung, Wasserrückgaben, Seeregulierung usw.).
  • Punktuelle Massnahmen an der Wasserstrasse Rhein (Beseitigung lokaler Hindernisse, Vertiefung der Fahrrinne) und die Ausschöpfung technischer Möglichkeiten im Schiffbau zusammen mit einer Verbesserung der 4- bis 5-Tages-Wasserstandsvorhersagen optimieren die Transportkapazität in Niedrigwasserzeiten.
  • Interessenskonflikte im grenzüberschreitenden Wassermanagement werden dank verbesserter Zusammenarbeit frühzeitig erkannt und gelöst.

Das Handlungsfeld Bodenerosion wird im Sektor Landwirtschaft unter dem Ziel Standorteignung aufgenommen. Die Freizeitfischerei bildet auch einen Aspekt des Ziels Lebensräume und Arten des Sektors Biodiversitätsmanagement.

Eine übergeordnete Koordination der Wasserwirtschaft hat bisher gefehlt. Die Anpassung an den Klimawandel ist eine Herausforderung, welche neue, übergreifende Konzepte erfordert. Um die oben genannten Ziele erfolgreich umsetzen zu können, müssen einige Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • Ein gesamtheitliches Verständnis der Wasserwirtschaft muss geschaffen werden: Die Wasserwirtschaft befasst sich mit allen menschlichen Einflüssen auf die Ressource Wasser und Gewässer sowie den zugehörigen Infrastrukturen. Sie umfasst alle zielgerichteten Tätigkeiten, welche dem Gewässerschutz, der Gewässernutzung sowie dem Schutz vor dem Wasser dienen.
  • Ein Paradigmenwechsel von einem vorwiegend bedarfsorientierten zu einem mehr angebotsorientierten Wassermanagement ist erforderlich: Statt Wasser einfach zu nutzen, muss dieses zukünftig nachhaltig bewirtschaftet werden.
  • Die institutionellen Voraussetzungen für die Ermöglichung und Förderung einer integralen Gewässerbewirtschaftung sind zu schaffen. Mit dem Dokument «Einzugsgebietsmanagement  Leitbild für die integrale Bewirtschaftung des Wassers in der Schweiz» ist ein erster Schritt getan.

Die Kenntnisse der quantitativen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf den Wasserhaushalt und das Abflussgeschehen sind noch ungenügend. Deshalb ist eine Fortführung und Stärkung der Messnetze und der Klima- bzw. Klimafolgenmodellierung im Bereich Wasser unerlässlich.

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 03.06.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU
Klimaberichterstattung und –Anpassung

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

NCCS-Themenschwerpunkt: Hydrologische Grundlagen zum Klimawandel

Hydro-CH2018 untersucht, wie sich der Klimawandel auf die Wasserressourcen und die Naturgefahren auswirkt, und entwickelt hydrologische Szenarien.

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/sektoren/wasserwirtschaft/handlungsoptionen.html