Other project activities

Water resource management

Even Switzerland, the moated castle of Europe, may be affected by local, temporary water scarcity problems, as shown by the summer of 2003, the spring of 2011 or the drought in 2015. Buildings in groundwater-protection zones and areas are also increasingly endangering water supply security. 

The FOEN provides practical bases for dealing with these water scarcity problems in three modules, which are based on the catchment management concept. 

National research programme: Sustainable water use (NFP 61)

NFP 61 (2008-2013) develops bases for the sustainable use of water resources. The 16 projects examine the effects of climatic and societal changes, identify risks and develop strategies for an integrated water management.

Research project CCHydro: Climate change and hydrology in Switzerland

The FOEN project CCHydro (2008-2012) creates scenarios of the water cycle and the runoff up to 2050/2100 for the various climatic regions and elevation levels in Switzerland. On this basis, changes in runoff extremes, water resources, groundwater infiltration, soil water content and water temperature are investigated.

Research project: Impacts of climate change on hydropower use

The project (2008-2011) examined climate-related changes in the water cycle as well as the consequences for power plant operation and electricity production on the basis of several case studies in different catchment areas and with different types of power plants. Customers: Swisselectric Research, the Swiss Federal Office of Energy, Canton of Valais, Forces Motrices Valaisannes. Management and coordination: University of Bern, The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL, Mountain Water Network.

Projekt CLISP: Climate Change Adaptation by Spatial Planning in the Alpine Space

The EU-project CLISP (2008-2011) dealt with the challenges of climate change for spatial planning in the Alpine region and developed initial approaches for "climate-safe" spatial development. Swiss partners: The Federal Office for Spatial Development, Canton of Graubünden. The Graubünden model region focused on the topic of water. 

Saas Valley case study : Adaptation to climate change in the mountain area

For the Saas Valley (VS), the case study (2010-2011) analysed the possible impacts of climate change, assessed the need for action and derived adaptation options. The water subproject dealt with water balance, water availability and water use. Supported by: municipalities of the Saas Valley, Canton of Wallis, Mountain Water Network, Schweizer Berghilfe, the Swiss Insurance Association, WWF Schweiz and the Swiss Hotel Association.

Irrigation community agriculture in the Broye Plain

Against the background of increasing droughts, three farmers from the Broye Plain (FR) have joined forces to form an irrigation community. With the construction of a common water catchment from Lake Neuchâtel and a common irrigation network (2005-2009), companies can now irrigate their potato crops efficiently even in the event of water scarcity. Supported by: Participating farmers, supported by the Office of Agriculture of the Canton of Fribourg and the Federal Office for Agriculture

Pilot programme: adaptation to climate change

Further informations

Specialist staff
Last modification 03.06.2016

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Reporting and Adaptation Section

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Print contact

Priority themes: Hydrological principles of climate change

The core topic of the NCCS Hydro-CH2018 focusses on the water resources and their future development. The objective is to supply the necessary fundamental hydrological principles for adaptation.

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/sektoren/wasserwirtschaft/handlungsoptionen/handlungsoptionen1.html

Weitere Projektaktivitäten

Wasserressourcenmanagement

Auch die Schweiz als Wasserschloss Europas kann von lokalen, vorübergehenden Wasserknappheitsproblemen betroffen sein, wie dies der Sommer 2003, der Frühling 2011 oder die Trockenheit 2015 gezeigt haben. Bauten in Grundwasserschutzzonen und -arealen gefährden zudem immer häufiger die Wasserversorgungssicherheit. 

Das BAFU stellt zum Umgang mit diesen Wasserknappheitsproblemen Praxisgrundlagen in drei Modulen zur Verfügung, welche sich nach dem Leitbild Einzugsgebietsmanagement richten. 

Nationales Forschungsprogramm Nachhaltige Wassernutzung (NFP 61)

Das NFP 61 (2008-2013) erarbeitet Grundlagen für einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit den Wasserressourcen. Die 16 Projekte untersuchen die Auswirkungen klimatischer und gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen, identifizieren Risiken und entwickeln Strategien für ein integrales Wassermanagement.

Forschungsprojekt CCHydro: Klimaänderung und Hydrologie in der Schweiz

Das BAFU-Projekt CCHydro (2008-2012) erstellt Szenarien des Wasserkreislaufs und der Abflüsse bis 2050 / 2100 für die verschiedenen Klimaregionen und Höhenstufen der Schweiz. Auf dieser Basis werden die Veränderungen von Abfluss-Extremwerten, Wasserressourcen, Grundwasserinfiltration, Bodenwassergehalt und Wassertemperatur untersucht.

Forschungsprojekt Auswirkungen der Klimaänderung auf die Wasserkraftnutzung

Das Projekt (2008-2011) untersuchte die klimabedingten Veränderungen im Wasserkreislauf sowie die Folgen für den Kraftwerksbetrieb und die Stromproduktion anhand mehrerer Fallstudien in verschiedenen Einzugsgebieten und mit unterschiedlichen Kraftwerkstypen. Auftraggeber: Swisselectric Research, Bundesamt für Energie, Kanton Wallis, Forces Motrices Valaisannes. Leitung und Koordination: Universität Bern, Eidg. Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL, Netzwerk Wasser im Berggebiet

Projekt CLISP: Climate Change Adaptation by Spatial Planning in the Alpine Space

Das EU-Projekt CLISP (2008-2011) beschäftigte sich mit den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels für die Raumplanung im Alpenraum und erarbeitete erste Ansätze für eine «klimasichere» Raumentwicklung. Schweizer Partner: Bundesamt für Raumentwicklung, Kanton Graubünden. Die Modellregion Graubünden befasste sich v.a. mit dem Thema Wasser. 

Fallstudie Saastal: Anpassung an die Klimaänderung im Berggebiet

Die Fallstudie (2010-2011) analysierte für das Saastal (VS) die möglichen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, bewertete den Handlungsbedarf und leitete Anpassungsoptionen ab. Das Teilprojekt Wasser beschäftigte sich mit Wasserhaushalt, Wasserverfügbarkeit und Wassernutzung. Träger: Gemeinden des Saastals, Kanton Wallis, Netzwerk Wasser im Berggebiet, Schweizer Berghilfe, Schweizerischer Versicherungsverband, WWF Schweiz und hotelleriesuisse

Bewässerungsgesellschaft Landwirtschaft in der Broye-Ebene

Vor dem Hintergrund der zunehmenden Trockenperioden haben sich drei Landwirte aus der Broye-Ebene (FR) zu einer Bewässerungsgesellschaft zusammengeschlossen. Mit dem Bau einer gemeinsamen Wasserfassung aus dem Neuenburgersee und eines gemeinsamen Bewässerungsnetzes (2005-2009) können die Kartoffelkulturen der Betriebe nun auch bei Wasserknappheit effizient bewässert werden. Träger: Beteiligte Landwirte, gefördert durch das Amt für Landwirtschaft Kanton Freiburg und das Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft

Pilotprogramm Anpassung an den Klimawandel

Weiterführende Informationen

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 03.06.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU
Klimaberichterstattung und –Anpassung

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

climate-adaptation@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

NCCS-Themenschwerpunkt: Hydrologische Grundlagen zum Klimawandel

Hydro-CH2018 untersucht, wie sich der Klimawandel auf die Wasserressourcen und die Naturgefahren auswirkt und entwickelt hydrologische Szenarien.

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/sektoren/wasserwirtschaft/handlungsoptionen/handlungsoptionen1.html