Hydro-CH2018 research projects

One of the aims of Hydro-CH2018 is to improve understanding of the hydrological process and close some existing gaps in our knowledge of the impact of climate change on water resources in Switzerland. Various research projects have been launched and many Swiss research institutions are involved.

New hydrological scenarios for Switzerland

Based on the new CH2018 climate scenarios, this project is intended to update the hydrological scenarios for Switzerland. This will create the necessary baseline for adaptation measures and further impact studies. The new database will enable climate-induced changes in the hydrological process to be investigated and changes in the water cycle to be analysed and evaluated. Hydrological extremes and variability can be better simulated than with the old CH2011 scenarios. The projections, called transients (continuous in time), also give greater flexibility in the analyses.

Quantifying the contributions to discharge of snow and glacier melt

Schnee- und Gletscherschmelze
View from the Piz Tagliola to the Maighels valley and Maighels glacier (Anterior Rhine)
© Markus Weiler

Snow and glaciers respond very sensitively to temperature changes. This means that the proportions of discharge components from rain or snow and glacier melt along the Swiss rivers vary in the context of climate change. This has repercussions for the availability of water, particularly in periods of drought. This project therefore models the contributions to discharge from ice, snow and rain for the period 1970-2100 for all Swiss river basins on a daily basis. The purpose is not to determine the origins of individual water particles, but to quantify the extent to which discharge depends on the different components on specific days, i.e. the effect of inputs of rain and of snow and glacier melt. Contributions during extreme events and temporal variability and trends are of particular interest. This study is also embedded in the CHR (International Commission for the Hydrology of the Rhine Basin) project “Contributions to discharge of snow and glacier melt in the Rhine basin” which examines the whole of the Rhine basin down to Lobith on the Dutch border.

Evaluating future hydrological scenarios with stochastic climate data

In this research project the regional CH2018 climate scenarios (daily values, 12-km grid) are transformed to a 2-km grid and hourly resolution using a stochastic weather generator. The high-resolution climate data are then used for the hydrological modelling. This should reduce the uncertainty in the evaluation of future hydrological extremes, especially heavy precipitation and floods. The calculations are produced for three river basins, the Thur, Kleine Emme and Maggia, and are then compared with the results from other Hydro-CH2018 research projects.

FORHYCS-ICE: Combining the three environmental system models - hydrology, glaciers and forest - to improve future hydrological projections

Over recent decades many studies have examined the impact of climate change on individual environmental systems. The majority have used analysis of disciplinary (model) approaches focussing on a specific system (e.g. forest, water cycle, glaciers). This project combines three of these system models for the first time. The project is called FORHYCS-ICE and examines the impact of climate change simultaneously on hydrology, glaciers and the development and composition of the forests. The aim is to provide more consistent and interdisciplinary cross-system information.

AgriAdapt: Impact of climate and management changes on inputs and water resources in Bernese Seeland

Climate change increases the crop water requirement in agricultural production. At the same time, the availability of water in the summer months will fall due to less precipitation and increased evaporation. Agricultural climate adaptation by irrigation could exacerbate water use conflicts and possibly lead to overuse of the resource. This research project therefore focusses on the question of how far agricultural production can be maintained under the effects of climate change and what adaptations are necessary to achieve this (e.g. irrigation, crop selection). The impact of climate change and agricultural adaptation on groundwater resources is also examined. The intensively farmed Bernese Seeland has been chosen as the region to be studied. Irrigation from groundwater is an important factor in that area, though this specific water resource also has great relevance for the region’s drinking water.

Water balance and drought

The new CH2018 climate scenarios do not consider changes in future land use or irrigation. This raises the question of what the impact on the water cycle and water resources in Switzerland would be if those factors were included. With this in mind, the objective of this project is to provide information on the impact of various climate and land use scenarios on Swiss water resources. It will focus particularly on the sustainability of water use for irrigation.

Groundwater dynamics and storage in alpine catchments

The timing of snow melts in Alpine regions will shift due to climate change. This will have an impact on runoff, with rather less in spring and summer and more in winter. Groundwater may reduce the impact somewhat, depending on the region. Groundwater recharge will also alter due to climate change. The aim of the project is to study the relationship between the groundwater storage and the climate change induced difference in snow cover in alpine catchment areas and its impact on runoff behaviour. Above all, this should give a better understanding of the interaction between geomorphology, geology and hydrogeology, groundwater storage and runoff dynamics.

Potential of multi-purpose reservoirs to reduce the impact of summer drought

Speichersee
© Manfred Stähli, WSL

Natural and artificial lakes and storage and other reservoirs are already widely used to store water. They offer the potential to respond to local and regional water shortages, which are likely to occur more often in future as a result of climate change, population growth and more intensive farming. A large part of the glacier and snow melt which currently provides a significant proportion of the available water supply in a hot summer will be lost. The demands on use and the need for reservoirs and their multiple use will then grow. This research project examines the potential of multi-purpose reservoirs to reduce summer drought for the major hydrological regions of Switzerland and for selected case studies.

Impact on the water temperature

The temperatures of the Swiss surface waters have risen by 1-2°C in the last 30 years. Due to the forecast increase in air temperature, water temperatures will continue to rise – with consequences for aquatic ecosystems and water quality. This research project uses models to examine the impact of climate change on Swiss river and lake temperatures and their correlation. In a further phase, the impact on ecosystem services will be examined more closely (e.g. displacement of fish regions) and a baseline for water management measures will be created.

Changes in groundwater temperature

Grundwassertemperatur Basel
Basel-Stadt hydraulic and thermal groundwater regime (2010-2015 mean).
© Jannis Epting, Universität Basel

The impact of climate change on groundwater resources is not well known and differs for deposits in solid or unconsolidated rock, urban or rural locations and the prevailing groundwater recharge processes. To understand the relevant processes and specific location factors, it is necessary to identify the nature of the direct (cooling, heating) and indirect (climate changes) hydraulic and thermal boundary conditions. Based on selected representative Swiss unconsolidated rock groundwater deposits, this research project concentrates on characterising the actual current hydraulic and thermal conditions and obtaining key parameters (renewal rates, residence times, storage characteristics etc.). A comparison of these characteristic boundary conditions in different groundwater deposits forms the basis for deducing transferability to groundwater resources in general (typical situations).

Last modification 08.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Hydrology Division

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

hydrologie@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/hydro-ch2018/hydro-ch2018-forschungsprojekte.html

Hydro-CH2018 Forschungsprojekte

Ein Ziel von Hydro-CH2018 ist die Verbesserung des hydrologischen Prozessverständnisses, um bestehende Wissenslücken bezüglich Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Wasserressourcen in der Schweiz zu füllen. Hierzu wurden diverse Forschungsprojekte unter Beteiligung zahlreicher Schweizer Forschungsinstitutionen lanciert.

Neue hydrologische Szenarien für die Schweiz

Basierend auf den neuen CH2018-Klimaszenarien sollen in diesem Projekt die hydrologischen Szenarien für die Schweiz aktualisiert werden. Damit werden die notwendigen Grundlagen für Anpassungsmassnahmen und weiterführende Impaktstudien geschaffen. Die neue Datengrundlage erlaubt die Untersuchung der klimabedingten Veränderungen der hydrologischen Prozesse sowie die Analyse und Evaluierung der Veränderungen im Wasserkreislauf. Im Vergleich zu den alten CH2011-Szenarien können hydrologische Extreme und die Variabilität besser abgebildet werden. Ebenso erlauben die sog. transienten (zeitlich durchgehenden) Projektionen eine höhere Flexibilität in den Auswertungen.

Quantifizierung der Anteile von Schnee- und Gletscherschmelze im Abfluss

Schnee- und Gletscherschmelze
Blick vom Piz Tagliola in das Val Maighels und auf den «Glatscher da Maighels» (Vorderrhein)
© Markus Weiler

Schnee und Gletscher reagieren sehr empfindlich auf Temperaturänderungen. Die Anteile der Abflusskomponenten aus Regen, Schnee- und Gletscherschmelze entlang der Schweizer Flüsse verändern sich also im Kontext des Klimawandels. Dies hat Folgen für die Wasserverfügbarkeit, insbesondere während Trockenzeiten. In diesem Projekt werden deshalb die Abflussanteile aus Eis, Schnee und Regen für die Periode 19702100 für alle Schweizer Flussgebiete auf Tagesbasis modelliert. Dabei geht es nicht darum zu bestimmen, woher einzelne Wasserpartikel kommen, sondern darum zu quantifizieren, wie stark der Abfluss an bestimmten Tagen von den verschiedenen Komponenten abhängt, also den Effekt der Einträge von Regen sowie Schnee- und Gletscherschmelze. Interessant sind hierbei insbesondere die Anteile während Extremereignissen sowie die zeitliche Variabilität und Trends. Diese Studie ist zudem in das Projekt der Kommission zur Hydrologie des Rheins (KHR) «Abflussanteile aus Schnee- und Gletscherschmelze im Rheineinzugsgebiet» eingebettet, die das gesamte Rheineinzugsgebiet bis zum Pegel Lobith an der niederländischen Grenze untersucht.

 

Evaluation zukünftiger hydrologischer Szenarien mit stochastischen Klimadaten

In diesem Forschungsprojekt werden mit Hilfe eines stochastischen Wetter-Generators die regionalen CH2018-Klimaszenarien (Tageswerte, 12 km-Raster) auf ein 2 km-Raster und in stündlicher Auflösung transformiert. Diese hochaufgelösten Klimadaten werden dann für die hydrologische Modellierung verwendet. Dadurch soll eine Reduktion der Unsicherheit bei der Evaluation von zukünftigen hydrologischen Extremen, besonders von Starkniederschlägen und Hochwasser, erzielt werden. Die Berechnungen werden für die drei Einzungsgebiete Thur, Kleine Emme und Maggia vorgenommen und mit den Resultaten anderer Forschungsprojekte in Hydro-CH2018 verglichen.

FORHYCS-ICE: Koppelung der drei Umweltsystemmodelle Hydrologie, Gletscher und Wald zur Verbesserung der hydrologischen Zukunftsprojektionen

In den letzten Jahrzehnten wurden zahlreiche Studien zu den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf einzelne Umweltsysteme durchgeführt. Diese erfolgten meistens durch Auswertung von disziplinären (Modell-)Ansätzen, welche auf ein bestimmtes System (z.B. Wald, Wasserkreislauf, Gletscher) fokussierte. In diesem Projekt werden deshalb erstmals drei solche Systemmodelle gekoppelt. Unter dem Namen FORHYCS-ICE untersucht das Projekt gleichzeitig die Auswirkungen des Klimawandles auf die Hydrologie, auf die Gletscher sowie auf die Waldentwicklung und Zusammensetzung. Ziel ist es, damit konsistentere, systemübergreifende und interdisziplinäre Aussagen machen zu können.

AgriAdapt: Auswirkungen von Klima- und Bewirtschaftungsänderungen auf Erträge und Wasserressourcen im Berner Seeland

Der Klimawandel erhöht den Pflanzenwasserbedarf in der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion. Gleichzeitig wird die Verfügbarkeit von Wasser in den Sommermonaten durch weniger Niederschlag und eine erhöhte Verdunstung abnehmen. Eine landwirtschaftliche Klimaanpassung durch Bewässerung könnte Wassernutzungskonflikte verschärfen und möglicherweise zu einer Übernutzung der Ressource führen. Dieses Forschungsprojekt widmet sich deshalb der Frage, inwiefern die landwirtschaftliche Produktion unter dem Einfluss des Klimawandels erhalten bleiben kann bzw. welche Anpassungsmassnahmen dafür notwendig sind (z.B. Bewässerung, Wahl der Kulturen). Es werden dabei auch die Auswirkungen von Klimawandel und landwirtschaftlicher Anpassung auf die Grundwasserressourcen untersucht. Als Untersuchungsgebiet wurde das landwirtschaftlich intensiv genutzte Berner Seeland gewählt. Während die Bewässerung aus dem Grundwasser dort eine wichtige Rolle spielt, ist diese Wasserressource gleichzeitig auch sehr relevant für die Trinkwasserversorgung der Region.

Wasserbilanz und Trockenheit

Die neuen CH2018-Klimaszenarien berücksichtigen keine Änderungen in der zukünftigen Landnutzung oder auch Bewässerung. Es stellt sich somit die Frage, welche Auswirkungen der Einbezug dieser Faktoren auf Wasserkreislauf und Wasserressourcen in der Schweiz haben würde. Dieses Projekt hat sich deshalb zum Ziel gesetzt, Informationen über die Auswirkung von verschiedenen Klima- und Landnutzungsszenarien auf Wasserressourcen in der Schweiz bereit zu stellen. Ein besonderer Fokus soll dabei auf Nachhaltigkeit des Wasserverbrauchs für Bewässerung gelegt werden.

Grundwasserdynamik und Speicherung in alpinen Einzugsgebieten

Durch den Klimawandel wird sich der Zeitpunkt der Schneeschmelze in alpinen Regionen verschieben. Dies wird Auswirkungen auf den Abfluss haben, mit eher weniger Abfluss im Frühjahr und Sommer und mehr Abfluss im Winter. Je nach Gebiet kann das Grundwasser diese Auswirkungen etwas abmildern. Aber auch die Grundwasserneubildung wird sich infolge des Klimawandels verändern. Das Projekt hat zum Ziel, die Abhängigkeit zwischen der Grundwasserspeicherung und der klimawandelbedingten Veränderung der Schneebedeckung in alpinen Einzugsgebieten sowie deren Auswirkung auf das Abflussverhalten zu untersuchen. Hierzu sollen in erster Linie die Zusammenhänge zwischen Geomorphologie, Geologie und Hydrogeologie, der Grundwasserspeicherung und der Abflussdynamik besser verstanden werden.

Potenzial von Mehrzweckspeichern zur Verminderung der Auswirkungen von Sommertrockenheit

Speichersee
© Manfred Stähli, WSL

Natürliche und künstliche Seen, Staubecken und andere Reservoire werden als Wasserspeicher bereits heute vielfältig genutzt. Sie bieten ein Potenzial, um auf lokale und regionale Wasserknappheit, die in Zukunft als Folge von Klimawandel, Bevölkerungszunahme und Intensivierung der Landwirtschaft häufiger auftreten dürfte, zu reagieren. Ein Grossteil der Gletscher- und Schnee­schmelze, welche heute in einem Hitzesommer einen bedeutenden Teil des Wasserdargebots liefern, werden verloren gehen. Damit wachsen die Nutzungsansprüche und der Bedarf an Wasserspeichern und deren Mehrfachnutzung. Dieses Forschungsprojekt untersucht das Potenzial von Mehrzweckspeichern zur Verminderung von Sommertrockenheit für die hydrologischen Grossregionen der Schweiz und für ausgewählte Fallstudien.

Auswirkungen auf die Wassertemperatur

Die Temperaturen in den Schweizer Oberflächengewässern sind in den letzten 30 Jahren um 1 bis 2 °C gestiegen. Aufgrund der prognostizierten Zunahme der Lufttemperatur werden auch die Wassertemperaturen weiter ansteigen – mit Folgen für die aquatischen Ökosysteme und die Wasserqualität. Dieses Forschungsprojekt untersucht die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Schweizer Fliessgewässer- und Seentemperaturen sowie deren Koppelung anhand von Modellen. In einem weiteren Schritt werden auch die Auswirkungen auf die Ökosystemleistungen genauer betrachtet (z.B. Verschiebung von Fischregionen) sowie Grundlagen für wasserwirtschaftliche Massnahmen geschaffen.

Veränderung der Grundwassertemperatur

Grundwassertemperatur Basel
Hydraulisches und thermisches Grundwasserregime Basel-Stadt (Mittelwert 2010-2015).
© Jannis Epting, Universität Basel

Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf das Grundwasservorkommen sind nur bedingt bekannt und unterscheiden sich für Vorkommen im Fels- und Lockergestein, urban oder ländlich geprägten Standorten sowie den vorherrschenden Prozessen der Grundwasserneubildung. Für das Verständnis der relevanten Prozesse und standortspezifischer Faktoren ist es notwendig, den Charakter von direkten (Kühlung/Aufheizung) sowie indirekten (Klimaänderungen) hydraulischen und thermischen Randbedingungen zu erfassen. Auf Basis ausgewählter repräsentativer Schweizer Lockergestein-Grundwasservorkommen konzentriert sich dieses Forschungsprojekt deshalb auf eine Charakterisierung des hydraulischen und thermischen «Ist-Zustands» und der Ableitung von Schlüsselparametern (Erneuerungsraten, Verweilzeiten, Speichereigenschaften usw.). Ein Vergleich dieser charakteristischen Randbedingungen verschiedener Grundwasservorkommen ist Grundlage für die Ableitung der Übertragbarkeit auf Grundwasservorkommen im Allgemeinen (Typsituationen).

Letzte Änderung 08.02.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU
Abteilung Hydrologie

Papiermühlestr. 172
3063 Ittigen

hydrologie@bafu.admin.ch
www.bafu.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/hydro-ch2018/hydro-ch2018-forschungsprojekte.html