Heavy precipitation

Heavy precipitation events are likely to become significantly more frequent and intense in the future compared to today. This is the case for all seasons, but particularly for winter. Rare extreme events such as 100-year precipitation events will be markedly more intense.

 

Heaviest single-day precipitation event of the year 100-year single-day precipitation event

Winter

Summer

Winter

Summer

Expected around mid-century

+10 %

+10 %

+10 %

+20 %

Expected by the end of the century

+20 %

+10 %

+20 %

+20 %

Expected changes in comparison to 1981–2010 without climate change mitigation (simulation median, maximum across regions). The uncertainty range for heavy precipitation is not taken into account, as this is strongly influenced by natural fluctuations. Precipitation changes are rounded to 5%.
Possible scenario in 2060

The heaviest precipitation falling on a single day has increased by about 10 percent. A 100-year precipitation event in summer will bring about 20 percent more rain than today.

Since 1901, the amount of precipitation falling in individual heavy precipitation events in Switzerland has risen by 12 percent. Because warmer air can hold about 6 to 7 percent more water per degree Celsius, the physics of the observed intensification of precipitation is well understood.

This trend is expected to continue in the future. In the case of unchecked climate change, the heaviest single-day precipitation events in winter would intensify by an additional 10 percent by the middle of this century; by the end of the century, the expected increase is 20 percent. In summer, the increase is about 10 percent. In the other seasons, the changes are between those for winter and summer. 

The very rare precipitation events that occur once every 100 years will see increases as well. The change amounts to about 10 to 20 percent by mid-century, and about 20 percent by the end of the century. Thus, despite reductions in total amounts of precipitation in summer, the intensity of extreme events will increase. 

However, the changes in heavy precipitation events vary over time and across regions and may deviate from the long-term trend over several decades. 

The increased intensity of heavy precipitation events can have significant cost implications. For instance, heavy precipitation can cause landslides and flooding and thus result in widespread damage. Consequently, infrastructure such as flood protection and sewage networks must be properly designed to cope with these threats. 

The potential for damage by precipitation extremes is expected to be higher in the future, and not only because of the higher amounts of precipitation. The increasing altitude of the snowline will increase the proportion of liquid precipitation in winter, thereby expediting runoff.

The key messages can also be found in the CH2018 brochure, which is available in printed form or as an electronic download. 

Last modification 06.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

« Building protection measures, flood defences and drainage systems must be better coordinated with one another in the future and have fit-for-purpose design and construction. In order to accomplish this, we need to not only rely on past data but also properly incorporate climate projections into the relevant standards. »

Stefan Cadosch, President of the Swiss Association of Engineers and Architects sia

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/kernaussagen/heftige-niederschlaege.html

Heftige Niederschläge

Starkniederschläge werden in Zukunft wahrscheinlich merklich häufiger und intensiver als wir es heute erleben. Dies betrifft alle Jahreszeiten, aber besonders den Winter. Auch seltene Extremereignisse wie ein Jahrhundertniederschlag fallen deutlich heftiger aus.




Ohne Klimaschutz 
Stärkster jährlicher
Eintagesniederschlag 
100-jährliches Eintages-
Niederschlagsereignis 
Winter  Sommer  Winter  Sommer 
Erwartet um Mitte 21. Jahrhundert +10 %  +10 % +10 %  +20 %
Erwartet gegen Ende 21. Jahrhundert +20 %  +10 % +20 %  +20 %
Erwartete Veränderungen gegenüber 1981-2010 ohne Klimaschutz (Median der Simulationen, Maximum der Regionen). Der Unsicherheitsbereich der Starkniederschläge ist nicht berücksichtigt, da er stark von natürlichen Schwankungen bestimmt ist. Niederschlagsänderungen sind auf 5 Prozent genau angegeben.
Mögliches Szenario 2060

Während des stärksten Niederschlagstags fällt durchschnittlich etwa 10 Prozent mehr Niederschlag. Ein Jahrhundertniederschlag im Sommer bringt rund 20 Prozent mehr Regen als heute.

Seit 1901 hat die Niederschlagsmenge von einzelnen Starkniederschlägen in der Schweiz um 12 Prozent zugenommen. Da wärmere Luft pro Grad Celsius der Erwärmung etwa 6 bis 7 Prozent mehr Wasser aufnehmen kann, ist die gemessene Intensivierung der Niederschläge physikalisch gut verstanden. 

Es ist damit zu rechnen, dass sich dieser Trend auch in Zukunft fortsetzt: Bei ungebremstem Klimawandel ist bis Mitte dieses Jahrhunderts zu erwarten, dass die stärksten Eintagesniederschläge im Winter um weitere rund 10 Prozent heftiger ausfallen. Bis Ende des Jahrhunderts beträgt die erwartete Zunahme 20 Prozent. Im Sommer bewegen sich die Zunahmen um 10 Prozent. Für andere Jahreszeiten liegen die Veränderungen zwischen denen für Winter und Sommer.

Auch sehr seltene Niederschlagsereignisse, wie sie etwa einmal in 100 Jahren eintreten, verstärken sich. Die Veränderung ist in allen Jahreszeiten ähnlich und beträgt Mitte Jahrhundert 10 bis 20 Prozent, gegen Ende Jahrhundert etwa 20 Prozent. Trotz abnehmender Niederschlagssummen werden also Einzelereignisse stärker.

Die Entwicklung der Starkniederschläge schwankt jedoch zeitlich und räumlich stark und kann über längere Zeiträume vom langfristigen Trend abweichen. 

Die grössere Intensität von Starkniederschlägen kann erhebliche Kostenfolgen nach sich ziehen. Heftige Niederschläge können beispielsweise Erdrutsche und Überschwemmungen verursachen und so grosse Schäden anrichten. Daher müssen Infrastrukturen wie Hochwasserschutzbauten und Kanalisationen ausreichend dimensioniert sein.

Das Schadenspotenzial der Niederschlagsextreme ist in Zukunft jedoch nicht allein wegen der höheren Niederschlagsmengen grösser. Der Anstieg der Schneefallgrenze erhöht insbesondere im Winter den Anteil des flüssigen Niederschlags und beschleunigt so den Abfluss.

Die Kernaussagen finden Sie auch in der CH2018 Broschüre, die in gedruckter Form oder elektronisch als Download erhältlich ist.  

Letzte Änderung 06.12.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Klimaszenarien
Andreas Fischer

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

«Gebäudeschutz, Hochwasserschutzbauten
und Entwässerungssysteme müssen in Zukunft noch besser aufeinander abgestimmt
und ausreichend dimensioniert werden. Dazu gilt es, nicht nur auf Daten der
Vergangenheit abzustützen, sondern auch Klimaprojektionen adäquat in den
entsprechenden Normen abzubilden.»

Stefan Cadosch, Präsident Schweizerischer Ingenieur- und Architektenverein sia 

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/kernaussagen/heftige-niederschlaege.html