Understanding Climate Change Scenarios

What are the consequences of a continued increase in greenhouse gas emissions, and how much success could comprehensive reductions in emissions have in terms of mitigating these consequences? These questions can only be answered with the help of computer simulations of climate models. The Climate Scenarios CH2018 translate the complex scientific results of such climate models into comprehensible outlooks.

What is behind the CH2018 Climate Change Scenarios?

The models used for the Climate Scenarios CH2018 are part of the EURO-CORDEX (Coordinated Regional Climate Downscaling Experiment – European Domain). The aim of this initiative of the World Climate Research Programme is to refine the global climate simulations for Europe. Regional climate models are used for this purpose.

Simulations using a total of 21 different computer models run at European research institutions form the basis of the Climate Scenarios CH2018. The comparative analysis of several simulations allows the uncertainties associated with the Climate Scenarios to be estimated.

With the help of statistical methods, the resolution of the results can be further enhanced. Where long-term, reliable measurements exist, it is possible to draw conclusions about certain meteorological measuring stations or to produce extensive maps with a horizontal grid box size of two kilometres, as for instance for temperature and precipitation.

The simulated changes vary slightly from place to place. To arrive at a prediction of changes for Switzerland as a whole in each of the individual climate scenarios, the country was split into five regions, and the rounded median figures from these regions were analysed. Detailed information on the changes in these five CH2018 regions can be found in the Technical Report.

You will find detailed explanations of what Climate Change Scenarios are, how computer models work and why there are uncertainties, under Climate Basics.

Which emission scenarios are used?

The primary cause of global climate change is the increase in greenhouse gas emissions by humans since industrialisation. The main agent is carbon dioxide (CO2), which is mainly formed by the burning of fossil fuels, but also through deforestation. Other gases also contribute, particularly methane, which forms in the process of fermentation – in swamps, in the stomachs of cows and in rice paddies. These gases accumulate in the Earth’s atmosphere and add to the natural greenhouse effect.

Whether and how quickly the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere will continue to rise depends on human behaviour. If all known climate change mitigation measures are fully exploited, it will be possible to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases quickly and sustainably. However, if no steps are taken, emissions will continue to rise unchecked.

The Climate Scenarios CH2018 illustrate the full range of possibilities in between these two extremes. In line with the work of the IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change), they take into consideration different possible development scenarios for future greenhouse gas emissions:

No climate change mitigation (RCP8.5): Mitigation measures are not implemented. Despite technological advances, climate-influencing emissions continually increase – and so does global warming. (RCP 8.5). 

Concerted climate change mitigation efforts (RCP2.6): If efforts are initiated immediately to reduce emissions to virtually zero, the increase in greenhouse gases in the atmosphere can be halted within about 20 years. This will enable the goals of the 2015 Paris Agreement to be achieved, and global warming will be limited to 2 °C compared to pre-industrial levels (RCP 2.6).

The Technical Report for CH2018 and the CH2018 web atlas also investigate a middle-of-the-road scenario with limited climate change mitigation (RCP4.5).

Further information on the emission scenarios can be found under Climate Basics.

What time periods do the Climate Change Scenarios describe?

The Climate Scenarios CH2018 each describe an average level of climatic conditions over a period of three decades, grouped around the years 2035, 2060 and 2085.

Near future (2035): When the text refers to the “near future” or 2035, this refers to the period from 2020 to 2049.

Mid-century (2060): When the text refers to the “middle of this century” or “2060”, this refers to the period from 2045 to 2074.

End of the century (2085): When the text refers to the “end of the century” or 2085, this refers to the period from 2070 to 2099.

The current “normal” period for the Swiss climate is the period from 1981 to 2010. These thirty years serve as the starting point for the simulations and as the reference period for all data on future changes in comparison to today’s climate. Notably, the climate has already changed since then, and the increase in temperature is happening more quickly than before 1980.

How are the results interpreted?

Simulations calculate how the climate would behave under the influence of rising or falling amounts of greenhouse gases. Because all models vary, they all produce slightly different results, even when the time period and influences being modelled are the same.

The projections of the climate models are always distributed within a certain range. Half the values sit above the so-called “median”, and half below. The median is thus the most plausible value and is described as the “expected” outcome in the Climate Scenarios (dark line in the graph).

The second highest result of the climate models is shown by the upper limit of the displayed range, and the second lowest by the lower limit. Consequently, the result is not merely informed by the most extreme values. All values in between the upper and lower limits of the range are described in terms of the Climate Scenarios CH2018 as “possible” (coloured bars in the graph). The probability of actual values lying within the “possible” range is estimated to be twothirds.

Of course, certain years in the future will deviate from the expected average values – as is the case now, where we see individual climate phenomena every year that measure lower or higher than the long-term average.

There is no simulation in which all aspects of climate change are strongly pronounced at the same time. For example, some of the simulations show severe summer dryness but moderate heavy precipitation events. It is therefore unlikely that the most extreme values for all climate parameters described would occur at the same time.

What data are available?

The CH2018 Climate Change Scenarios describe Switzerland’s future climate by means of numerous variables and indicators.

Averaged figures are available for temperature and precipitation, extreme temperatures and extreme precipitation events, as well as dryness indicators. These figures describe seasonal or annual changes for the regions of Switzerland.

Additional climate indicators such as hot days, tropical nights etc. indicate pronouncedly location-specific characteristics of the climate. These data are available for a range of meteorological stations throughout the country, and can also be obtained in the form of maps at a grid resolution of 2 x 2 km.

The data relate to the near future, the middle, and end of the 21st century, and are based on 30-year averages for each time period.

The CH2018 web atlas provides access to graphs for climate parameter averages for all emission scenarios, regions/locations and seasons, and offers the associated data for free download.

The base data that were used to calculate the climate indicators can be obtained free of charge from MeteoSwiss on request. These data are available as continuous daily time series of several climate variables for the period 1981-2099 at a large number of Swiss stations and on a high-resolution 2 x 2 km grid. Further information on the available data sets and the data access can be found on the CH2018 data page.

The validity of all of the data is subject to the limitations inherent in the methodology. These limitations are explained in detail in the Technical Report on the CH2018 Climate Change Scenarios. No guarantee can be made of the validity of the data.

Why new climate scenarios?

CH2018 – the new generation of Swiss Climate Change Scenarios – provides several innovations compared to the previous Climate Scenarios CH2011.

Last modification 29.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/klimaszenarien-verstehen.html

Klimaszenarien verstehen

Was sind die Folgen weiter zunehmender Treibhausgase, und welchen Erfolg versprechen umfassende Senkungen des Treibhausgasausstosses? Diese Frage lässt sich nur mit Computersimulationen von Klimamodellen beantworten. Die Klimaszenarien CH2018 übersetzen die komplexen wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse der Klimamodelle in verständliche Aussagen.

Was bildet die Grundlage der Klimaszenarien CH2018?

Die für die Klimaszenarien CH2018 verwendeten Computermodelle sind Bestandteil von EURO-CORDEX («Coordinated Regional Climate Downscaling Experiment – European Domain»). Diese Initiative des Weltklimaforschungsprogramms hat zum Ziel, globale Klimasimulationen für Europa zu verfeinern. Dazu werden regionale Klimamodelle verwendet.

Simulationen mit insgesamt 21 verschiedenen Computermodellen, die an Europäischen Forschungsinstitutionen betrieben werden, bilden die Grundlage der Klimaszenarien CH2018. Die Analyse mehrerer Simulationen erlaubt eine Abschätzung der Unsicherheiten, die mit den Klimaszenarien verbunden sind.

Mithilfe von statistischen Verfahren lässt sich die Auflösung der Ergebnisse weiter stark verfeinern: Wenn langjährige, zuverlässige Messungen vorliegen, sind Aussagen für bestimmte meteorologische Messstandorte oder sogar flächendeckende Karten mit einer horizontalen Maschenweite von zwei Kilometern möglich – beispielsweise für Temperatur und Niederschlag.

Die simulierten Änderungen sind von Ort zu Ort leicht unterschiedlich. Für eine schweizweite Angabe von Änderungen zu den einzelnen Klimaszenarien wurde der gerundete Medianwert aus fünf Teilgebieten der Schweiz gewählt. Detaillierte Angaben zu den Änderungen in diesen fünf CH2018-Regionen sind dem Technischen Bericht zu entnehmen.

Ausführliche Erläuterungen, was Klimaszenarien sind, wie Computermodelle funktionieren und warum sich Unsicherheiten ergeben, finden Sie in den Grundlagen zum Klima.  

Welche Emissionsszenarien werden verwendet?

Hauptursache des globalen Klimawandels ist der verstärkte Ausstoss von Treibhausgasen durch den Menschen seit der Industrialisierung. Die Hauptrolle spielt Kohlendioxid (CO2), das überwiegend bei der Verbrennung von fossilen Treib- und Brennstoffen, aber auch bei der Abholzung von Wäldern, entsteht. Mitverantwortlich sind weitere Gase – vor allem Methan, das sich durch Vergärung bildet, etwa in Sümpfen, Mägen von Rindern und auf Reisfeldern. Diese Gase reichern sich in der Erdatmosphäre an und verstärken dort den natürlichen Treibhauseffekt.

Ob und wie schnell die Konzentration der Treibhausgase in der Atmosphäre weiter ansteigt, hängt vom Verhalten der Menschheit ab. Werden alle bekannten Klimaschutzmassnahmen ausgeschöpft, gelingt es, den Ausstoss der Treibhausgase rasch und nachhaltig zu vermindern. Werden hingegen keine Massnahmen ergriffen, so steigen die Emissionen ungebremst. 

Die Klimaszenarien CH2018 bilden die ganze Bandbreite zwischen diesen beiden Extremen ab. In Anlehnung an die Arbeiten des Weltklimarats IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) berücksichtigen sie verschiedene mögliche Entwicklungen der zukünftigen Treibhausgas- Emissionen:

Kein Klimaschutz (RCP8.5): Klimaschutzmassnahmen werden nicht ergriffen. Trotz des technischen Fortschritts nehmen daher die klimawirksamen Emissionen stetig zu – und mit ihnen die Erwärmung. 

Konsequenter Klimaschutz (RCP2.6): Mit einer umgehend eingeleiteten Senkung der Emissionen auf praktisch Null wird der Anstieg der Treibhausgaskonzentration in der Atmosphäre bis etwa in 20 Jahren gestoppt. Damit lassen sich die Ziele des Pariser Klimaabkommens von 2015 wahrscheinlich erreichen und die globale Erwärmung auf zwei Grad Celsius gegenüber dem vorindustriellen Zustand begrenzen.

Für welchen Zeitraum werden Resultate gezeigt?

Die Klimaszenarien CH2018 beschreiben jeweils einen Mittelwert der Klimaverhältnisse über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahrzehnten. Sie gruppieren sich um die Jahre 2035, 2060 und 2085.

Nahe Zukunft (2035): Wenn es im Text "nahe Zukunft" oder "2035" heisst, bezieht sich dies auf Ergebnisse für den Zeitraum von 2020-2049. 

Mitte des Jahrhunderts (2060): Wenn es im Text "Mitte des Jahrhunderts" oder "2060" heisst, bezieht sich dies auf Ergebnisse für den Zeitraum von 2045-2074.

Ende des Jahrhunderts (2085): Wenn es im Text "Ende des Jahrhunderts" oder "2085" heisst, bezieht sich dies auf Ergebnisse für den Zeitraum von 2070-2099.

Als gegenwärtige Norm des Schweizer Klimas gilt der Zeitraum von 1981 bis 2010. Diese dreissig Jahre bilden den Ausgangspunkt der Simulationen und dienen als Referenzzeitraum für sämtliche Angaben über zukünftige Veränderungen gegenüber dem heutigen Klima. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass sich das Klima inzwischen bereits wieder verändert hat und die Temperaturen seit den 1980er-Jahren noch schneller ansteigen als zuvor.

Wie werden die Resultate gelesen?

Simulationen berechnen, wie sich das Klima unter dem Einfluss ansteigender oder sinkender Mengen von Treibhausgasen verhalten würde. Da sich alle Modelle unterscheiden, liefern sie auch leicht unterschiedliche Resultate – selbst wenn der modellierte Zeitraum und die Einflüsse übereinstimmen.

Die Projektionen der Klimamodelle streuen immer über einen gewissen Bereich. Je die Hälfte der Werte liegen über respektive unter dem sogenannten Median. Dieser entspricht am ehesten dem absehbaren Wert und wird daher im Rahmen der Klimaszenarien als «erwartet» bezeichnet (dunkle Linie in Grafik).

Das zweithöchste Ergebnis der Klimamodelle markiert die obere, das zweittiefste die untere Grenze des dargestellten Bereichs. So wird das Ergebnis nicht allein von den extremsten Werten bestimmt. Alle Werte innerhalb der oberen und unteren Grenze des Bereichs werden im Rahmen der Klimaszenarien CH2018 als «möglich» bezeichnet (gefärbte Balken in Grafik). Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass die realen Werte innerhalb des «möglichen» Bereichs liegen werden, beträgt schätzungsweise zwei Drittel.

Natürlich werden auch in Zukunft einzelne Jahre von den erwarteten Durchschnittswerten abweichen. Wie wir es bereits heute kennen, sind in jedem Jahr einzelne Klimaphänomene schwächer oder stärker ausgeprägt als im langjährigen Mittel.

Es gibt keine Simulation, in denen gleichzeitig alle Aspekte der Klimaveränderung stark ausgeprägt sind. Einige Simulationen zeigen beispielsweise eine starke Sommertrockenheit an, während sie eher auf moderatere Starkniederschläge hinweisen. Es ist damit unwahrscheinlich, dass die extremsten Werte aller beschriebenen Klimagrössen gleichzeitig auftreten.

Welche Daten sind verfügbar?

Die Klimaszenarien CH2018 beschreiben das zukünftige Klima der Schweiz mithilfe einer Vielzahl von Variablen und Indikatoren. 

Gemittelte Werte sind zu Temperatur und Niederschlag, zu extremen Temperaturen und extremen Niederschlagsereignissen, sowie zu Trockenheitsindikatoren erhältlich. Diese Angaben beschreiben jahreszeitliche oder ganzjährliche Änderungen für Teilgebiete der Schweiz.

Zusätzliche Klimaindikatoren wie Hitzetage, Tropennächte, usw. zeigen stark ortsspezifische Merkmale des Klimas an. Diese Daten sind für eine Reihe von über das ganze Land verteilten Wetterstationen verfügbar und können zusätzlich als Karten in einer Auflösung von 2 x 2 km bezogen werden.

Die Angaben beziehen sich jeweils auf die nahe Zukunft sowie Mitte bzw. Ende des 21. Jahrhunderts und beruhen auf Mittelwerten über je 30 Jahre.

Der CH2018-Webatlas gibt Zugriff auf Grafiken der mittleren Klimagrössen für alle Emissionsszenarien, Regionen oder Orte und Jahreszeiten, und bietet die dazugehörigen Daten zum freien Download an.

Die Grundlagendaten, die für die Berechnung der Klimaindikatoren verwendet wurden, können auf Anfrage unentgeltlich von der MeteoSchweiz bezogen werden. Diese Daten liegen als kontinuierliche tägliche Zeitreihen mehrerer Klimavariablen für die Periode 1981-2099 an einer Vielzahl von Schweizer Messstationen sowie auf einem hochaufgelösten 2 x 2 km Gitter vor. Weitere Informationen zu den verfügbaren Datensätzen und zu den Bezugsmöglichkeiten sind der CH2018-Datenseite zu entnehmen.

Die Gültigkeit aller Daten unterliegt methodisch bedingten Einschränkungen, welche im Technischen Bericht zu den Klimaszenarien CH2018 eingehend beschrieben sind. Für die Richtigkeit der Daten kann keine Garantie übernommen werden.

Warum neue Klimaszenarien?

CH2018 – die neue Generation der Schweizer Klimaszenarien – wartet im Vergleich zu den vorgängigen Klimaszenarien CH2011 mit einigen Neuerungen auf.

Letzte Änderung 29.11.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Klimaszenarien
Andreas Fischer

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/klimawandel-und-auswirkungen/schweizer-klimaszenarien/klimaszenarien-verstehen.html