Current climate

The climate of the Swiss Plateau is characterised by a large number of frost days in winter and several dozen summer days in summer. Depending on the region, between 800 and 1,400 millimetres of precipitation falls in an average year, predominantly as rain.

Temperature

While the temperatures in the western Plateau are slightly higher than for comparable altitudes in the Swiss mean, they tend to be lower in the eastern Plateau. Frost often occurs in winter. There are already under current climate a few dozen summer days in the summer months.

Precipitation

The annual precipitation amounts to between 800 mm at the southern foot of the Jura mountains, 1200 mm in the higher parts of the Plateau and 1400 mm along the pre-Alpine region. While there is hardly any annual rainfall in the west, there is a pronounced summer maximum or minimum winter in the eastern Plateau. In winter there is snow for only a few weeks, with the number of days with fresh snow increasing slightly from west to east.

Particularities

In the winter months, there are often over several days or weeks of high fog with an upper limit often above the highest elevations of the Plateau. In no other region, the solar insolation in winter and annual average is as small as in the Plateau. The winds, which blow mostly from western directions or from the northeast, are rather weak, especially in valleys.

Particularly in the foothills there are thunderstorms during the summer months, sometimes accompanied by hail. Especially in spring and autumn, the southern foehn partly reaches into the southern Plateau and gives this region above-average temperatures for the duration of the foehn phase compared to the rest of the Plateau.

Climate Change Scenarios CH2018 - Swiss Plateau

If global greenhouse gas emissions continue to increase significantly, we can expect temperatures on the Swiss Plateau to rise by a further 2–3°C by the middle of the 21st century. This will mean a marked increase in the number of summer days, as well as in the number of tropical nights. Frost days will become less common. We can also expect winter precipitation to increase, and for it to fall more often as rain than snow because of rising temperatures. In contrast, the summer months will become drier.

Links

Last modification 11.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/regionen/grossregionen/mittelland/klima-heute-mittelland.html

Klima heute Mittelland

Das Klima des Schweizer Mittellandes ist gekennzeichnet durch viele Frosttage im Winter und einige Dutzend Sommertage im Sommer. In einem durchschnittlichen Jahr fallen gebietsweise zwischen 800 und 1400 Millimeter Niederschlag, der Grossteil davon als Regen. 

Temperatur

Während die Temperaturen im westlichen Mittelland etwas höher sind als für vergleichbare Höhen im Schweizer Mittel, sind sie im östlichen Mittelland tendenziell tiefer. Im Winter tritt häufig Frost auf. Im Sommerhalbjahr gibt es heute schon einige Dutzend Sommertage.

Niederschlag

Die jährlichen Niederschlagsmengen betragen zwischen 800 mm am Jurasüdfuss, 1200 mm im höheren Mittelland und 1400 mm zu den Voralpen hin. Während im Westen kaum ein Jahresgang der Niederschlagsmengen existiert, zeigt sich im östlichen Mittelland ein ausgeprägtes Sommermaximum bzw. Winterminimum. Im Winter liegt nur während weniger Wochen Schnee, wobei die Schneetage von West nach Ost etwas zunehmen.

Besonderheiten

Im Winterhalbjahr gibt es oft über mehrere Tage oder Wochen Hochnebel mit Obergrenze oft über den höchsten Erhebungen des Mittellandes. In keiner anderen Region ist die Besonnung im Winter und im Jahresmittel so klein wie im Mittelland. Die Winde, die meist aus westlichen Richtungen oder aus Nordost (Bise) wehen, sind vor allem in Tallagen und Senken eher schwach.

Vor allem zu den Voralpen hin gibt es im Sommerhalbjahr häufig Gewitter, zum Teil auch begleitet von Hagel. Besonders im Frühling und Herbst greift der Südföhn teilweise bis ins südliche Mittelland durch und beschert dieser Region für die Dauer der Föhnphase im Vergleich zum übrigen Mittelland überdurchschnittliche Temperaturen.

Quelle: Klimaszenarien Schweiz – eine regionale Übersicht, Fachbericht MeteoSchweiz Nr. 243, im Auftrag des Bundesamts für Umwelt (BAFU).

Klimaszenarien CH2018 Mittelland

Nehmen die globalen Treibhausgasemissionen zukünftig weiter stark zu, ist im Mittelland bis Mitte des 21. Jahrhunderts mit einer Erwärmung um weitere 2-3°C zu rechnen. Infolge dessen steigt die Zahl der Sommertage aber auch der Tropennächte markant. Frosttage werden seltener. Auch ist zu erwarten, dass Winterniederschläge zunehmen und aufgrund steigender Temperaturen vermehrt als Regen statt Schnee fallen. Die Sommermonate werden jedoch trockener.

Links

Letzte Änderung 08.11.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Klimaszenarien
Andreas Fischer

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/regionen/grossregionen/mittelland/klima-heute-mittelland.html