Current climate

In the upper valleys of the Swiss Jura, significant cold-air pools can form. Typically, there are at least a few summer days every summer up to the higher altitudes. The Jura acts as a barrier at which rain falls from fronts coming in from the west.

Temperature

In General, temperatures in the Jura major region are similar or slightly smaller than the temperatures in the Swiss average at comparable altitudes. Die high valleys in the inner part of the Jura are significantly colder than the Swiss average, particularly in winter. In this time of the year, frost occurs frequently. In summer, already in current climate several summer days are registered per year, even up to the higher locations of the region.

Precipitation

Given that the Jura is the first larger mountain ridge to work as a barrier for the weather systems east of the Atlantic ocean, the precipitation amounts are comparably large (in the higher zones, between 100 and 170 mm per month are measured). In the western part of the Jura, there is hardly an annual cycle. In addition, with more than 10 occurrences per month, the number of wet days is relatively large. In winter, snow is often found at higher altitudes. In the summer half year, thunderstorm frequently occur with high intensity and often combined with hail. In some very rare cases, even tornadoes can be observed.

Particularities

In inner part of the Jura is often protected from the high fog appearing in winter in the Swiss Plateau. Solar insolation is substantially larger than in the Plateau, but smaller than in the Alps or south of the Alps. The average wind speeds belong to the highest in Switzerland, together with those measured in the Alpine region.

Climate Change Scenarios CH2018 - Jura

Without concerted efforts to mitigate climate change, temperatures in the Jura region could increase by another 2–3°C by the middle of the 21st century. As a result, the number of days with fresh snowfall will decrease, and frost days will become less common. Winter precipitation is likely to increase by 5–28%, and the summer months will become drier.

Links

Last modification 11.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/regionen/grossregionen/jura/klima-heute-jura.html

Klima heute Jura

In den Hochtälern des Schweizer Jura können sich im Winter markante Kaltluftseen entwickeln. Bis in hohe Lagen sind Sommertage mit mindestens 25°C die Regel. Der Jura funktioniert als Barriere, an der viele von Westen kommende Fronten ausregnen. 

Temperatur

Im Allgemeinen sind die Temperaturen im Jura ähnlich wie oder leicht niedriger als diejenigen des Schweizer Mittels der jeweiligen Höhenlage. Die Hochtäler im Inneren des Jura sind vor allem im Winter deutlich kälter als im Schweizer Mittel. Im Winter herrscht häufig Frost, im Sommer gibt es heute schon bis in die höheren Regionen einige Sommertage.

Niederschlag

Dadurch, dass der Jura die erste grössere Gebirgsbarriere in den Zugbahnen der Wettersysteme östlich des Atlantiks ist, sind die Niederschlagsmengen vergleichsweise hoch (in den höheren Lagen zwischen 100 und 170 mm pro Monat). Es zeigt sich vor allem im westlichen Jura kaum ein Jahresgang. Zudem gibt es mit meist über 10 Tagen pro Monat relativ viele Regentage. Im Winter liegt vor allem in den erhöhten Lagen oft Schnee. Im Sommerhalbjahr treten recht häufig Gewitter mit grosser Intensität und zum Teil mit Hagel und in ganz seltenen Fällen sogar Tornados auf.

Besonderheiten

Der innere Jura bleibt häufig vom winterlichen Hochnebel verschont. Die Besonnung ist deutlich höher als im Mittelland, aber kleiner als in den Alpen und der Alpensüdseite. Die mittleren Windgeschwindigkeiten zählen zusammen mit denjeniden auf den Alpengipfeln zu den höchsten der Schweiz.

Quelle: Klimaszenarien Schweiz – eine regionale Übersicht, Fachbericht MeteoSchweiz Nr. 243, im Auftrag des Bundesamts für Umwelt (BAFU).

Klimaszenarien CH2018 Jura

Ohne griffigen Klimaschutz ist in der Region Jura bis Mitte des 21. Jahrhunderts mit einer Erwärmung um weitere 2-3°C zu rechnen. Infolge dessen nimmt die Anzahl Tage mit Neuschnee ab. Frosttage werden seltener. Die Winterniederschläge nehmen wahrscheinlich um 5-28% zu. Die Sommer werden trockener.

Links

Letzte Änderung 08.11.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Klimaszenarien
Andreas Fischer

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/regionen/grossregionen/jura/klima-heute-jura.html