CH2018 climate scenarios

The climate in Switzerland is changing. In order to provide decision-makers with the best possible basis for making their decisions, Switzerland needs updated and reliable climate scenarios. Based on the latest climate models ,results from user surveys, and in close collaboration with the scientific community, new climate change scenarios are developed as part of CH2018.  

The new reference for adaptation shows where and how climate change will affect Switzerland.  The Climate Scenarios combine simulations that use the latest climate models with observations of the trends thus far, providing the most accurate picture to date of our country’s future climate. This makes it possible to make firm projections on the different aspects of climate change. The CH2018 scenarios will replace the Swiss climate scenarios dating from 2011 (CH2011).

Objectives

Climate Scenarios and further climate services serve as the basis for decision making in mitigation and adaptation to climate change. Since 2014, it has been an official mandate of the federal government to produce regular climate scenarios that will provide decision-makers with the most up-to-date knowledge foundation for planning adaptive measures to climate change.

Content

CH2018 – the new generation of Swiss climate scenarios – provides several innovations:

  • Another seven years’ worth of data have been collected since the previous report.
  • The latest scientific findings have also informed the CH2018 Scenarios. The new simulations have four times the spatial resolution of the simulations used in 2011 for the last report.
  • The statistical methods have been refined in order to facilitate improvements in localisation.
  • The current Climate Scenarios provide more concrete information on a range of key areas, including extreme events and local climate indicators.

Highlights - key messages

  • Dry summers
    In the long term, average amounts of precipitation in the summer months will shrink, and evaporation will increase. The ground will become drier, there will be fewer rainy days and the longest precipitation-free period will last longer. 
  • Heavy Precipitation
    Heavy precipitation events are likely to become significantly more frequent and intense in the future compared to today. This is the case for all seasons, but particularly for winter. Rare extreme events such as 100-year precipitation events will be markedly more intense.
  • More hot days
    The increases in the highest temperatures are even more pronounced than for the average temperatures. Heatwaves and hot days and nights become more frequent and extreme. Heat stress is greatest in low-lying urban areas with high population densities.
  • Snow-scarce winters
    Winters will be significantly warmer by the middle of the century as well. Although there will be more precipitation, it will fall more frequently in the form of rain because of the higher temperatures. Particularly in lower-lying regions, it will snow less often and in smaller quantities. The snowy areas of Switzerland will therefore shrink considerably.
  • When climate change mitigation takes hold
    Lowering the emissions of greenhouse gases globally could effectively stem climate change. Approximately half of the potential changes in Switzerland’s climate could be avoided by the middle of the 21st century, two-thirds by the end of the century. Although temperatures will still rise in Switzerland, the increases will be much smaller than if emissions are allowed to increase unchecked.

Main project partners

  • Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology MeteoSwiss
  • ETH Zurich
  • Center for Climate Systems Modeling (C2SM)

Project co-partners

  • University of Bern
  • ProClim | SCNAT

Last modification 12.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal office of meteorology and climatology MeteoSwiss
Operation Center 1
P.O. Box 257
CH-8058 Zurich-Airport

Climate scenarios
Andreas Fischer

Contact

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/neue-schweizer-klimaszenarien-ch2018.html

Neue Schweizer Klimaszenarien CH2018

Das Klima der Schweiz ändert sich. Um den Entscheidungsträgern optimale Planungsgrundlagen zu liefern, sind aufdatierte und verlässliche Klimaszenarien für die Schweiz unerlässlich. Basierend auf den neuesten Klimamodellen und den Erkenntnissen aus Nutzerumfragen erarbeitet der Themenschwerpunkt CH2018 in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Wissenschaft neue Szenarien zur Klimaänderung.

Die neue Grundlage für die Anpassung an den Klimawandel zeigt, wo und wie der Klimawandel die Schweiz trifft. Die Klimaszenarien CH2018 verbinden Simulationen modernster Klimamodelle mit Beobachtungen bisheriger Trends und erlauben den bisher genauesten Blick in die Klimazukunft unseres Landes. Damit lassen sich robuste Aussagen zu unterschiedlichen Aspekten des Klimawandels treffen. Die CH2018-Szenarien lösen die Schweizer Klimaszenarien aus dem Jahr 2011 («CH2011») ab.

Ziele

Die Klimaszenarien und weitere Klimadienstleistungen sind die Entscheidungsrundlage für den Klimaschutz und die Anpassung an den Klimawandel. Seit 2014 ist die regelmässige Erstellung von Klimaszenarien ein offizielles Mandat des Bundes, um Entscheidungsträgern die aktuellsten Planungsgrundlagen für Anpassungen an den Klimawandel zu liefern.

Inhalt

CH2018 – die neue Generation der Schweizer Klimaszenarien – wartet mit einigen Neuerungen auf:

  • Gegenüber dem letzten Bericht kamen Beobachtungsdaten für sieben weitere Jahre hinzu.
  • Auch die neuesten Erkenntnisse aus der Wissenschaft flossen in die Szenarien CH2018 ein. Die neuen Simulationen verfügen über die vierfache räumliche Auflösung gegenüber jenen, die 2011 für den letzten Bericht verwendet wurden.
  • Die statistischen Verfahren wurden verfeinert, um eine noch bessere Lokalisierung zu ermöglichen.
  • Die Klimaszenarien liefern konkretere Informationen zu Schlüsselbereichen wie Extremereignissen und ortsbezogenen Klimaindikatoren.

Highlights – Kernaussagen

  • Trockene Sommer
    Langfristig wird die mittlere Niederschlagsmenge in den Sommermonaten abnehmen und die Verdunstung wird zunehmen. Die Böden werden trockener, es gibt weniger Regentage, und die längste niederschlagsfreie Periode dauert länger.
  • Heftige Niederschläge
    Starkniederschläge werden in Zukunft wahrscheinlich merklich häufiger und intensiver, als wir es heute erleben. Dies betrifft alle Jahreszeiten, aber besonders den Winter. Auch seltene Extremereignisse wie ein Jahrhundertniederschlag fallen deutlich heftiger aus.
  • Mehr Hitzetage
    Noch erheblich stärker als die Durchschnittstemperaturen steigen die Höchsttemperaturen. Hitzewellen sowie heisse Tage und Nächte werden häufiger und extremer. Am grössten ist die Hitzebelastung in den bevölkerungsreichen städtischen Gebieten in tiefen Lagen.
  • Schneearme Winter
    Auch die Winter werden Mitte des Jahrhunderts deutlich wärmer sein als heute. Zwar fällt mehr Niederschlag – aber wegen der höheren Temperaturen eher als Regen. Besonders in tieferen Lagen schneit es seltener und weniger. Entsprechend schrumpfen die schneereichen Gebiete der Schweiz stark.
  • Klimaschutz greift
    Eine umfassende Senkung des weltweiten Treibhausgasausstosses könnte den Klimawandel wirksam eindämmen. So liessen sich bis Mitte des 21. Jahrhunderts etwa die Hälfte, bis Ende des Jahrhunderts sogar zwei Drittel der möglichen Klimaveränderungen in der Schweiz vermeiden. Zwar würden die Temperaturen auch in der Schweiz weiter steigen, aber viel weniger, als wenn die Emissionen unvermindert zunehmen.

Haupt-Projektpartner

  • Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
  • ETH Zürich
  • Center for Climate Systems Modeling (C2SM)

Co-Projektpartner

  • Universität Bern
  • ProClim | SCNAT

Letzte Änderung 13.02.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Meteorologie und Klimatologie MeteoSchweiz
Operation Center 1
Postfach 257
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen

Klimaszenarien
Andreas Fischer

Kontaktformular

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/neue-schweizer-klimaszenarien-ch2018.html