Crop pests

Climate plays a key role for the distribution and development of harmful organisms. Scenarios predicting future changes in the prevalence of pests and pathogens serve as a basis for planning adaptation measures in plant protection.

Climate change will affect the way harmful organisms exert pressure on crops. This requires changes in plant protection measures. Quantitative information on the development and distribution of pests and pathogens under future climatic conditions supports the adaptation process.

Goals

The goal of this research area is to develop scenarios concerning the distribution and development of harmful organisms of importance for Swiss agriculture, based on current climate scenarios and with the help of computer simulations. These scenarios factor in possible shifts in site suitability for the crops and the direct impacts of climate change on plant growth.

Content

In this research area, scenarios concerning the spread and proliferation of harmful organisms are developed with the help of statistical and process-based models based on the new climate change scenarios for Switzerland. The models are calibrated on the basis of current data. The target area is extended to the whole of Europe for the study of invasive species. Corresponding data and climate change scenarios are taken into account.

The impacts of climate change on harmful organisms are discussed using the examples of the codling moth (Cydia pomonella), a domestic pest in fruit farming, and the brown marmorated stink bug (Halyomorpha halys), an invasive alien pest.

The effect of higher temperatures on the pace of development and the number of generations of the codling moth is analysed taking into account the temporal synchronicity between host plant and pest organism.

The distribution and seasonal prevalence of the brown marmorated stink bug is simulated under present and future climate conditions using a bioclimatic population model. The model makes it possible to take a closer look at the effect of extreme temperatures on the development of this insect pest.

Highlights

  • Because of global warming, the phenological development of insect pests begins earlier in the year and proceeds more quickly. In the case of codling moth, this promotes the development of additional generations, which potentially leads to an additional infestation in apple orchards. However, apple varieties that ripen early are less affected than apple varieties that ripen late.
  • The example of the brown marmorated stink bug shows that heat stress during very hot summers can temporarily decimate the population of insect pests.
  • In the long-term, cold stress is becomes less relevant for the survival of insects. Insect pests can thus hibernate better and establish themselves in Switzerland. Higher population densities are to be expected in spring.
  • As can be clearly seen from the example of the brown marmorated stink bug, insect pests will be able to spread to higher altitudes in the future due to higher winter temperatures.
  • Climate change fosters the spread of alien pests from south to north. Natural barriers to distribution, such as the Alps, will be less effective in the future.
  • If efforts are undertaken to curb global warming, the magnitude of the impact of climate change on the spread and proliferation of harmful organisms will remain low in many cases until the end of the century. 

Partners

As a founding member of NCCS, the Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) commissioned Agroscope and the Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (FiBL) to address this issue. The CABI in Delémont is also involved in the area of invasive, alien insect pests.

Last modification 12.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Agro-environmental Systems and Nutrients

Daniel Felder

FiBL
Department of Crop Sciences

Sibylle Stöckli

Agroscope
Agroecology and Environment
Climate and Agriculture Group

Pierluigi Calanca

Plant Protection
Phytopathology and Zoology in Fruit and Vegetable Production Group

Dominique Mazzi

Print contact

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/en/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/schadorganismen-landwirtschaft.html

Schadorganismen an Kulturpflanzen

Das Klima spielt für die Ausbreitung und die Entwicklung von Schadorganismen eine entscheidende Rolle. Szenarien zur zukünftigen Veränderung des Vorkommens von Schädlingen und Krankheitserregern dienen als Basis für die Planung von Anpassungsmassnahmen im Pflanzenschutz.

Mit dem Klimawandel wird sich der Druck der Schadorganismen auf Kulturpflanzen ändern. Dies erfordert eine Anpassung der Massnahmen im Pflanzenschutz. Quantitative Informationen zur zukünftigen Vermehrung und Ausbreitung von Schädlingen und Krankheitserregern unterstützen den Anpassungsprozess.

Ziele

Ziel dieses Themenschwerpunkts ist es, ausgehend von den aktuellen Klimaszenarien und mit Hilfe von Computersimulationen, Szenarien zur Verbreitung und Entwicklung ausgewählter und für die Schweizer Landwirtschaft relevanter Schadorganismen auszuarbeiten. Dabei werden mögliche Verschiebungen in der Standorteignung der Kulturen und der direkten Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf das Pflanzenwachstum berücksichtigt.

Inhalt

In diesem Themenschwerpunkt werden, ausgehend von den neuen Klimaszenarien für die Schweiz, Szenarien zur Verbreitung und Vermehrung von Schadorganismen ausgearbeitet. Dazu werden statistische und prozessbasierte Modelle verwendet. Die Modelle werden aufgrund von aktuellen Daten kalibriert. Für die Untersuchung von invasiven Arten wird der Zielraum auf ganz Europa ausgedehnt. Entsprechende Daten und Klimaszenarien werden beigezogen.

Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf Schadorganismen werden beispielhaft am Apfelwickler (Cydia pomonella), einem einheimischen Schädling im Obstbau, und der Marmorierten Baumwanze (Halyomorpha halys), einem invasiven gebietsfremden Schädling, diskutiert.

Der Einfluss von erhöhten Temperaturen auf die Entwicklungsgeschwindigkeit und die Anzahl auftretender Generationen des Apfelwicklers wird unter Berücksichtigung der zeitlichen Synchronität zwischen Wirtspflanze und Schadorganismus untersucht.

Für die Marmorierte Baumwanze wird mittels eines bioklimatischen Populationsmodells die Verbreitung und das saisonale Vorkommen unter heutigen und zukünftigen Klimabedingungen simuliert. Das Modell erlaubt, den Einfluss von Extremtemperaturen auf die Entwicklung des Schadinsekts näher anzuschauen.

Highlights

  • Durch die globale Erwärmung setzt die phänologische Entwicklung von Schadinsekten früher im Jahr ein und vollzieht sich schneller. Beim Apfelwickler begünstigt dies die Entwicklung von zusätzlichen Generationen, was potentiell zu einem zusätzlichen Befall im Apfelanbau führt. Frühreifende Apfelsorten sind allerdings weniger davon betroffen als spätreifende Apfelsorten.
  • Am Beispiel der Marmorierten Baumwanze zeigt sich, dass in sehr heissen Sommern der Hitzestress die Population von Schadinsekten kurzfristig dezimieren kann.
  • Kältestress wird weniger relevant für das längerfristige Überleben von Insekten. Schadinsekten können dadurch besser überwintern und sich in der Schweiz etablieren. Im Frühling ist mit höheren Populationsdichten zu rechnen.
  • Wie deutlich am Beispiel der Baumwanze zu erkennen ist, können sich Schadinsekten aufgrund höherer Winter-Temperaturen in Zukunft in höheren Lagen ausbreiten.
  • Der Klimawandel begünstigt die Ausbreitung von gebietsfremden Schädlingen von Süden nach Norden. Natürliche Verbreitungsbarrieren wie die Alpen sind in Zukunft weniger wirksam.
  • Werden Anstrengungen unternommen, um die globale Erwärmung zu begrenzen, bleibt das Ausmass der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Verbreitung und Vermehrung von Schadorganismen in vielen Fällen bis gegen Ende Jahrhundert gering.

Partner

Das Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft (BLW) als Gründungsmitglied von NCCS erteilte Agroscope und dem Forschungsinstitut für biologischen Landbau (FiBL) den Auftrag diesen Themenschwerpunkt zu bearbeiten. Im Themenbereich invasive gebietsfremde Schadinsekten beteiligt ist auch das CABI in Delémont.

Letzte Änderung 12.12.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Agrarumweltsysteme und Nährstoffe

Daniel Felder

FiBL
Departement für Nutzpflanzenwissenschaften

Sibylle Stöckli

Agroscope
Agrarökologie und Umwelt
Gruppe Klima und Landwirtschaft

Pierluigi Calanca

Pflanzenschutz
Gruppe Phytopathologie und Zoologie Obst- und Gemüsebau

Dominique Mazzi

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.nccs.admin.ch/content/nccs/de/home/das-nccs/themenschwerpunkte/schadorganismen-landwirtschaft.html